Cover image for The perfect mile [three athletes, one goal, and less than four minutes to achieve it]
Title:
The perfect mile [three athletes, one goal, and less than four minutes to achieve it]
Author:
Bascomb, Neal.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
Prince Frederick, MD : Recorded Books, [2004]

â„—2004
Physical Description:
12 audio discs (14.25 hr.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
General Note:
Unabridged.

Subtitle from container.
Language:
English
Added Author:
Added Corporate Author:
ISBN:
9781402575617
Format :
Audiobook on CD

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
GV1061.14 .B383 2004D Adult Audiobook on CD Audiobooks
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

In the tradition of Seabiscuit and Chariots of Fire, Bascomb delivers a breathtaking story of unlikely heroes and leaves listeners with a lasting portrait of the twilight years of the golden age of sport. Unabridged. 7 CDs.


Summary

In 1952, running the mile in less than four minutes was a feat no one had accomplished. Roger Bannister, John Landy, and Wes Santee decided to attempt this challenge. Neal Bascomb tells the amazing story of the men who attempted this journey and won the hearts of the world.


Author Notes

Neal Bascomb was born in Denver, Colorado in 1971.

Neal graduated from Miami University (Ohio) with dual degrees in Economics and English Literature.

Neal's first book was Higher (Doubleday) which was chosen for a Barnes and Noble Discover Great New Writers Award. His other works include Perfect Mile (Houghton Mifflin), Red Mutiny (Houghton Mifflin), and Hunting Eichmann (Houghton Mifflin).

In 2014 his title, The Nazi Hunters: How a Team of Spies and Survivors Captured the World's Most Notorious Nazi, made The New York Times Best Seller List.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 1

Library Journal Review

Bascomb has written a comprehensive treatment of the quest to break the four-minute mile barrier by a trio of elite runners from Britain, Australia, and the United States. He chronicles their separate but gradually intersecting efforts to surpass a track and field milestone that eclipsed in the public imagination attempts to climb Mt. Everest, locate the North Pole, or circumnavigate the earth. British medical student Roger Bannister, whose scientific training methods and ferocious kick made him the first to crack the mile mark, epitomized the amateur ideal of athletic success combined with personal development. Australian John Landy, known for his front-running style, trained relentlessly on antiquated tracks in his quest to shatter the barrier. Wes Santee grew up in Kansas in the shadow of legendary runner Glenn Cunningham and turned to running to outpace the demons of an abusive home life. Nelson Runger's vintage radio voice is a fine accompaniment to the text; an excellent addition to the audio repertoire of public libraries. While university libraries will find the audiobook valuable, the print edition will be even more useful.-Vince Brewton, Univ. of North Alabama, Florence (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.