Cover image for Bop! : (more box office poison)
Title:
Bop! : (more box office poison)
Author:
Robinson, Alex, 1969-
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
Marietta, GA : Top Shelf Productions, [2003]

©2003
Physical Description:
1 volume (unpaged) : illustrations ; 23 cm
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781891830464
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
X Graphic Novel Central Library
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Previously unpublished short stories rounding out last year's smash hit Box Office Poison.
More Box Office Poison stories from Alex Robinson! There were several short stories featuring Sherman, Ed and friends which were not collected in the giant Box Office Poison collection. BOP! reprints all of those short stories including all of the SPX/Expo Anthology shorts, the "Box Office Poison Kolor Karnival" (seen here in glorious black and white), and some extra goodies.


Author Notes

Alex Robinson has written and illustrated several graphic novels, including Too Cool to Be Forgotten , Box Office Poison , Tricked , and Our Expanding Universe . He and his work have won several industry awards, including the prestigious Eisner Award and prize for best debut in Angouleme, France. Space considerations prevent us from listing the awards Robinson has lost, unfortunately. He lives in New York City with his wife and their pets, and hopes to have another book out soon.


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Even the 608 pages of Box Office Poison0 (2001) couldn't contain all of Robinson's comics about a set of postcollege friends in New York City. Here are 60 pages more of them, along with "Flat Earth," an excerpt from a graphic novel forthcoming later this year, "assuming," says the credits copy, "Alex gets off his lazy ass." The comfortable, razzing tone of that plaint chimes with the humor of Robinson's stories, which would be at home on network, let alone cable, TV, or on the American big screen, except that it probably isn't gross enough. The characters being young and in relationships, sex and love loom large in the stories, with work and play filling in the rest of the script. The occasional flight of fancy--a Star Trek0 daydream, or one character's transformation into Satan when he is temporarily appointed floor manager at work--seasons a classic life-in-the-city sitcom continuum that Robinson draws in the manner of, say, Alison Bechdel's Dykes to Watch Out For0 . --Ray Olson Copyright 2004 Booklist


Library Journal Review

Robinson's wonderful, compulsively readable 600-page graphic novel Box Office Poison was nominated for Eisner and Harvey awards. This slim volume is not a sequel but a collection of shorts and vignettes set during and slightly after the original story. Fans of the original will be greatly pleased to see more of the lives of bookstore clerk and aspiring writer Sherman; his girlfriend, Dorothy; his cartoonist friend, Ed; and his housemates, history professor Stephen and his girlfriend, Jane (also a cartoonist). Robinson is a master of true-to-life relationship drama in a comics format, and, as in the first book, he deals sensitively with the characters' troubles and insecurities. He also has fun with the cast here, especially in a daydream that places them in a science-fiction setting. Also included are an autobiographical short scripted by Robinson's girlfriend and assistant, Kristen Siebecker, and two episodes about Caprice, a minor character from the first book, one of which is excerpted from Robinson's upcoming Tricked. The original and this follow-up are highly recommended for adult collections (there's some sex and full-frontal nudity) and for fans of Terry Moore's Strangers in Paradise, Bob Fingerman's Beg the Question, and David Chelsea's David Chelsea in Love. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.