Cover image for Attention to detail : the finishing touch in more than 100 contemporary rooms
Title:
Attention to detail : the finishing touch in more than 100 contemporary rooms
Author:
Trocmé, Suzanne.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Stewart, Tabori & Chang, [2004]

©2004
Physical Description:
223 pages : illustrations (chiefly color) ; 26 cm
General Note:
Includes index.
Language:
English
Added Author:
ISBN:
9781584793601
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
NK1980 .T757 2004 Adult Non-Fiction Non-Fiction Area
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

As professional designers repeatedly say, it is attention to detail that really gives a room a feeling of quality and style. A perfectly streamlined door handle, the right texture of tiles, ideally balanced lighting that adjusts well to all times of day or night -- specifics such as these make all the difference. Attention to Detail features today's solutions to questions of design detail, from a single element to an entire room. Book jacket.


Author Notes

Suzanne Trocme is a writer and journalist specializing in interior design, architecture, art, and fashion. She is Architecture and Design Editor of Wallpaper magazine and a contributor to The New York Times Magazine and French, German, and Russian Architectural Digest
Andrew Wood specializes in photographing interiors and fashion


Reviews 1

Publisher's Weekly Review

Design expert Trocme (Retro Home; Influential Interiors; etc.) advances the theory that attention to detail can make or break a home's interior. The architecture and design editor of Wallpaper is quick to point out that by "detail" she doesn't mean cushions, vases and "the more nebulous bits and bobs we find arranged around the home." Rather, she's concerned with the design and structure of a home's major elements, from windows to flooring to stairs. Attempting to show readers how to integrate these elements into a harmonious whole, Trocme showcases rooms from around the world that she considers to be exemplars of good design, then breaks each room down into "functional detail" and "decorative detail," scrupulously examining everything from fireplaces to faucets. Trocme's taste clearly tends toward expensive minimalism, and while she'd certainly agree that good design transcends class or income level, most of the brands and features she proposes are out of range for all but the fantastically wealthy. For readers who fall into that category, or for those rich in aspirations, Trocme is an entertaining guide. Her design tips are spiked with observations on how contemporary lifestyles are changing our living spaces (noting that his-and-hers bathroom sinks are becoming increasingly popular in an age of double-income stress, she muses, "perhaps the bathroom is the new social venue for a couple to squeeze extra time together"). But despite Trocme's best efforts, the book never quite shakes off a slightly chilly aura of elitism that limits its usefulness for general readers. (Apr.) Forecast: Trocme's book will be of equal appeal to readers of Architectural Digest and InStyle-i.e., the wealthy, and those who admire that lifestyle. (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


Table of Contents

Introductionp. 6
Casebookp. 12
Living Roomp. 14
Dining Roomp. 34
Kitchenp. 44
Connecting Spacep. 56
Bedroomp. 68
Bathroomp. 78
Functional Detailp. 96
Surfacesp. 98
Wallsp. 100
Floorsp. 114
Structurep. 124
Servicesp. 142
Waterp. 144
Heatp. 154
Lightp. 162
Storagep. 172
Decorative Detailp. 184
Accessoriesp. 186
Furniturep. 188
Soft Furnishingsp. 198
Art & Ornamentp. 206
Directoryp. 212
Indexp. 221
Acknowledgmentsp. 224