Cover image for Love's unending legacy
Love's unending legacy
Oke, Janette, 1935-
Personal Author:
Newly edited and revised.
Publication Information:
Minneapolis, Minn. : Bethany House, [2004]

Physical Description:
239 pages ; 22 cm.
Reading Level:
810 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR UG 5.3 11.0 8136.

Reading Counts RC High School 7.5 13 Quiz: 07136 Guided reading level: NR.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X Adult Fiction Open Shelf
X Adult Fiction Open Shelf
X Adult Fiction Christian
X Adult Fiction Open Shelf

On Order



Book 5 of the bestselling Love Comes Softly series. Marty Davis had thoroughly enjoyed her visit with daughter Missie, even though a tragic accident had extended it far longer than originally planned. But now she and Clark are home again, and there are changes to make. The family begins to adjust to Clark's crutch, and Clark and Marty recognize their children's new maturity and independence. But Nandry seems unable to come to terms with Clark's handicap; is she blaming God for the accident? The "baby of the family" is going to be a doctor. Ellie has blossomed into a lovely young woman, but is there any fellow around special enough to ask for her hand? Clare and Kate eagerly anticipate their new baby, but has life prepared them for what lies ahead?

Author Notes

Janette Oke (pronounced "oak") was born in Champion, Alberta, Canada, during the depression years. She graduated from Mountain View Bible College in Didsbury, Alberta where she met her husband, Edward. She and Edward married in 1957 and went on to serve churches in Calgary and Edmonton, Canada, and Indiana.

Oke published her first book, Love Comes Softly, in 1979. The book experienced immediate success because works of fiction were a virtually unknown genre in the Christian publishing industry. Oke has gone on to publish some 36 romance novels, earning her the 1992 President's Award from the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association. She is the author of the "Love Comes Softly" and the "Prairie Legacy" series of books.

Oke enjoys a large reading audience primarily comprised of teenagers, homemakers and working women. She recently started writing for young children.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Table of Contents

1. Homecomingp. 9
2. Catching Upp. 17
3. Taking Stockp. 26
4. Happeningsp. 34
5. Confessionsp. 40
6. Announcementp. 47
7. Planningp. 53
8. A Visit With Map. 60
9. Benp. 67
10. Good Newsp. 73
11. Ma Grahamp. 83
12. Lane Helps Outp. 87
13. Marty Makes a Datep. 96
14. Christmasp. 103
15. Back to Routinep. 114
16. Secretsp. 121
17. Lettersp. 127
18. A Talk With Elliep. 137
19. Dark Shadowsp. 143
20. Nandryp. 152
21. Lane Comes for Supperp. 164
22. Ma Comes Callingp. 173
23. Ellie Makes Plansp. 186
24. Church and Homep. 190
25. Sharingp. 203
26. Family Dinnerp. 212
27. Surprisep. 217
28. Plansp. 227
29. The Legacyp. 235