Cover image for Hard
Title:
Hard
Author:
Gold, Emma.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York, NY : Kensington Books, [2004]

©2004
Physical Description:
294 pages ; 22 cm.
Language:
English
Subject Term:
ISBN:
9780758203908
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
X Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

With this saucy new novel of the war between the sexes, the writing of Emma Gold will appeal to fans of Candace Bushnell, Sue Margolis, and Anna Maxted.


Reviews 1

Booklist Review

After working as a solicitor, London party girl Emma comes to the conclusion that a person should like her job, so she quits. Many jobs later, she is working at a temp agency helping other people find work and enjoying it immensely--except for the new owner. Wayne makes inappropriate remarks and advances. Work is great, but her love life stinks until Emma meets her coworker and friend Tina's son, Luca. She is nervous about dating her coworker's son, but he's perfect and the two start to fall in love. But once her personal life is doing great, her work falls apart. Wayne goes too far and Emma fights back, alienating Tina and putting Luca in the middle of the dispute. Gold explores the ups and downs of a sassy London girl's life with irreverent wit, bringing a British spin to the predicament of the modern single woman that will resonate with and delight Americans. --Patty Engelmann Copyright 2004 Booklist