Cover image for Undertow
Title:
Undertow
Author:
McCourtney, Lorena.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
Grand Rapids, MI : Fleming H. Revell, [2003]

©2003
Physical Description:
331 pages ; 22 cm.
Language:
English
Geographic Term:
ISBN:
9780800757786
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
X Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Angie Harrison is determined to escape her life as a big-city model when she arrives in Julesburg, a small town on Oregon's coast. She becomes the publisher of the local newspaper and sets out to uncover the murderous history of the Nevermore theater-hoping to defy town lore that disaster greets anyone involved with the abandoned place. But around every corner, Angie is haunted by reminders of her past. First comes word of a friend's murder. Then the dreaded visit of her ex-boyfriend, Burke, and the arrival of Ethan, the man she left behind years ago to pursue her career.
As Angie's investigation begins to unravel the mysteries of the Nevermore, she must face her own buried secrets. Along the way, she learns that the faith she has abandoned is the only thing that can pull her from the undertow of her past.
The final book in a trilogy, Undertow will captivate romance and mystery readers with its spellbinding suspense and reassuring message of forgiveness.


Author Notes

Lorena McCourtney is the award-winning author of Whirlpool, Riptide, Betrayed, and several other novels. The first book in The Julesburg Mysteries series, Whirlpool, has been named a finalist in the Inspirational Division of the Romance Writers of America annual awards. McCourtney lives in Grants Pass, Oregon.


Reviews 1

Library Journal Review

Angie Harrison has left New York City and the modeling world for life as a small-town newspaper editor on the Oregon coast. She also left her stockbroker boyriend behind, only he will not accept her decision to reclaim the person she used to be. In the conclusion of "The Julesburg Mysteries" trilogy (after Whirlpool and Riptide), Angie is looking forward to a quiet life until she starts poking into a decades-old murder at the infamous Nevermore Theater, where local legend holds that "people connected with the Nevermore have had terrible misfortunes." Ex- boyfriend Ethan Kearney further complicates her life by stirring up a past Angie is not ready to face. As she digs for clues to the strange occurrences at the Nevermore, unfortunate incidents begin happening to her loved ones. Alternating between mystery and romance, this suspense title has interesting characters although the author may have laid out too many clues early on in the story. Recommended for mystery fans with possible crossover appeal for readers of Mary Higgins Clark or Joy Fielding. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.