Cover image for The honorable imposter
The honorable imposter
Morris, Gilbert.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
Minneapolis, Minn. : Bethany House, [1986]

Physical Description:
331 pages ; 20 cm.
Reading Level:
970 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR UG 6.5 18.0 10420.

Reading Counts RC High School 6.8 23 Quiz: 05321 Guided reading level: NR.
Corporate Subject:
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks

On Order



With the Sailing of the Mayflower, Forces Were Unleashed Which Would Set the Course for One Man, His Family, and Eventually a Whole Nation.Forced by his family to become a minister in the Church of England, Gilbert Winslow is offered a dangerous and challenging task by one of the most powerful nobles in Britain. Taking the post offers fortune and escape from a life he despises, but Winslow discovers it also means becoming a spy. His mission is to infiltrate a group of religious separatists and to ferret out the whereabouts of their leader, who is accused of dissention against the King.In spite of his initial uneasiness, infiltration proves to be an easy matter. But will the ultimate betrayal be so simple? With the influences of good and evil, faith and doubt, compassion and selfishness pulling him apart, to whom could he turn?

Author Notes

Gilbert Morris, May 24, 1929 - Gilbert Morris was born on May 24, 1929 in Forrest City Arkansas. He received his Bachelor of Arts in English in 1958 from Arkansas State University. He went on to earn his Master's in English from ASU as well and eventually earned his Doctorate in English from the University of Arkansas in 1968.

After graduating from college, Morris became a pastor for a Baptist Church in Alabama. He resided there from 1955 until 1961, at which point he accepted an appointment as a professor at Ouchita Baptist University.

Morris now writes books full time, and all of his stories have a basis in Christian faith. Over the course of his career, Morris has sold millions of copies of his titles. He has been a Gold medallion finalist several times and has received five angel awards, three for the Winslow series and two for the Appomatox Series. He won the National Award for Poetry from Cloverleaf in 1978.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Table of Contents

Part 1 England
1. The Masqueradep. 13
2. A Parson at the Ballp. 20
3. Tournament of Steelp. 31
4. A Matter of Honorp. 43
5. At the Green Gatep. 52
6. Humilityp. 61
7. The Inner Ringp. 72
8. Back to Babylonp. 82
9. At Whitehallp. 92
10. Humility Finds a Manp. 98
11. A Traitor Unmaskedp. 108
12. "They Knew They Were Pilgrims ..."p. 120
Part 2 The Mayflower
13. The Sweet Shipp. 135
14. Stowawaysp. 143
15. On Deckp. 155
16. Captain Shrimpp. 162
17. The Stormp. 171
18. Another Kind of Stormp. 179
19. Land!p. 186
20. Mutiny on the Mayflowerp. 200
Part 3 The New World
21. First Look at Edenp. 213
22. Dorothyp. 221
23. "It Will Be All Right!"p. 228
24. The General Sicknessp. 241
25. "Love Is Not Cold!"p. 251
26. Miracles Are Troublesomep. 263
27. A New Servicep. 271
28. The Mayflower Sailsp. 287
29. Out of the Pastp. 299
30. "With All Your Heart!"p. 315