Cover image for Einstein never used flash cards : how our children really learn--and why they need to play more and memorize less
Title:
Einstein never used flash cards : how our children really learn--and why they need to play more and memorize less
Author:
Hirsh-Pasek, Kathy.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
Emmaus, Pa. : Rodale ; [New York] : Distributed to the book trade by St. Martin's Press, [2003]

©2003
Physical Description:
xvii, 302 pages ; 24 cm
Language:
English
Contents:
The plight of the modern parent -- Brainchild -- Playing the number!s-- Language: the power of babble -- Literacy -- Welcome to Lake Wobegon -- Who am I? -- Getting to know you -- Play -- The new formula for exceptional parenting
ISBN:
9781579546953
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library LB1115 .H56 2003 Adult Non-Fiction Non-Fiction Area
Searching...
Clearfield Library LB1115 .H56 2003 Adult Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Eden Library LB1115 .H56 2003 Adult Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Grand Island Library LB1115 .H56 2003 Adult Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Anna M. Reinstein Library LB1115 .H56 2003 Adult Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Hamburg Library LB1115 .H56 2003 Adult Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Play Is Back

Reassuring to parents and educators, Einstein Never Used Flash Cards shows why-- and how-- to step away from the cult of achievement and toward a more nurturing home life full of imaginative play and love of learning.

Here's the message that stressed-out parents are craving to hear: It's okay to play!

In fact, it's more than just okay-- it's better than drilling academics. After decades of research, scientists and child development experts have come to a clear conclusion: Play is the best way for our children to learn.

Children who are prematurely pushed into regimented academic instruction display less creativity and enthusiasm for learning than their peers

Children who memorize isolated facts early in life show no better long-term retention than their peers.

Children who learn through play also develop social and emotional skills, which are critical for long-term success.

Somewhere along the line, we've gotten off track by stressing academic products and programs to our preschoolers. Thankfully, Dr. Kathy Hirsh-Pasek and Dr. Roberta Michnick Golinkoff have a simple remedy for our children that is based on overwhelming scientific evidence from their own studies and the collective research results of child development experts.

Einstein Never Used Flash Cards goes beyond debunking the myths spread by the accelerated-learning industry. Parents and educators will find a practical guide to introducing complex concepts through smart, simple, and loving play.

For every key area of a child's development (speech, reading, math, social skills, self-awareness, and intelligence), you'll understand how a child's mind actually learns. Then you'll discover exercises (40 in all) that will showcase emerging skills and leave your child smiling today-- and prepared for tomorrow.


Author Notes

Kathy Hirsh-Pasek, Ph.D. , is a member of the psychology department at Temple University, where she directs the Infant Language Laboratory and participated in one of the nation's largest studies of the effects of child care. The mother of three sons, she also composes and performs children's music.

Roberta Michnick Golinkoff, Ph.D. , is the H. Rodney Sharp Professor in the School of Education at the University of Delaware, where she holds a joint appointment with the departments of linguistics and psychology and directs the Infant Language Project. She has also been a recipient of the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Fellowship and is the mother of a son and a daughter.

Together, the authors were featured on the PBS Human Language series and are the authors of How Babies Talk .

Diane Eyer, Ph.D. , is a member of the psychology department at Temple University and author of Motherguilt and Mother-Infant Bonding .


Reviews 2

Publisher's Weekly Review

Authors and child psychologists Hirsh-Pasek, Golinkoff and Eyer join together to prove that training preschoolers with flash cards and attempting to hurry intellectual development doesn't pay off. In fact, the authors claim, kids who are pressured early on to join the academic rat race don't fair any better than children who are allowed to take their time. Alarmed by the current trend toward creating baby Einsteins, Hirsh-Pasek and Golinkoff urge parents to step back and practice the "Three R's: Reflect, Resist, and Recenter." Instead of pushing preschoolers into academically oriented programs that focus on early achievement, they suggest that children learn best through simple playtime, which enhances problem solving skills, attention span, social development and creativity. "Play is to early childhood as gas is to a car," say Hirsh-Pasek and Golinkoff, explaining that reciting and memorizing will produce "trained seals" rather than creative thinkers. Creativity and independent thinking, they argue, are true 21st-century skills; IQ and other test scores provide a narrow view of intelligence. The authors walk parents through much of the recent research on the way children learn, debunking such myths as the Mozart effect, and pointing out that much learning unravels naturally, programmed through centuries of evolution. Although the research-laden text is sometimes dense, parents will find a valuable message if they stick with the program, ultimately relieving themselves and their offspring of stress and creating a more balanced life. (Oct.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


Library Journal Review

Parents today feel immense pressure to jumpstart their children's education by playing them Mozart and enrolling them in the best preschools. Hirsh-Pasek and Golinkoff (both highly credentialed child psychologists and authors of How Babies Talk) want to ease their fears. Reviewing decades of developmental research, they dispute the effects of accelerated learning on children reported by the media and recommend that children be left to develop curiosity on their own (much like Einstein and other intellectuals) rather than through "canned" academic programs. Parents will better comprehend each of the significant areas of development-math, reading, verbal communication, science, self-awareness, and social skills-and get a grasp of what is scientifically proven to help children learn and grow. The book includes 25 age-appropriate exercises to help identify a child's developmental readiness, as well as ideas for creative play that will inspire a child to learn more than expensive, high-tech toys. Fans of David Elkind's The Hurried Child and William Crain's Reclaiming Childhood will appreciate the authors' opposition to the "adultification" of children and support for child-centered education. Strongly recommended for public libraries and undergraduate collections.-Charity Peak, Regis Univ. Lib., Colorado Springs (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview