Cover image for Physicists of Ireland : passion and precision
Physicists of Ireland : passion and precision
McCartney, Mark, 1967-
Publication Information:
Bristol and Philadelphia : Institute of Physics Pub., [2003]

Physical Description:
xiv, 298 pages : illustrations, portraits ; 24 cm
William Petty 1623-1687 / by Norman D. McMillan -- Robert Boyle 1627-1691 / by D. Thorburn Burns -- William Molyneux 1656-1698 / by Patrick Wayman and Norman D. McMillan -- Nicholas Callan 1799-1864 / by Niall E. McKeith -- William Parsons, Earl of Rosse 1800-1867 / by Bob Strunz -- Humphrey Lloyd 1800-1881 / by James G. O'Hara -- Thomas Grubb 1800-1878 and Howard Grubb 1844-1931 / by Andrew Whitaker -- William Rowan Hamilton 1805-1865 / by John J. O'Connor and Edmund F. Robertson -- James MacCullagh 1809-1847 / by James G. O'Hara -- Thomas Andrews 1813-1885 / by D. Thorburn Burns -- George Gabriel Stokes 1819-1903 / by Alastair Wood -- John Tyndall 1820-1893 / by Norman D. McMillan -- Samuel Haughton 1821-1897 / by Norman D. McMillan -- William Thomson, Lord Kelvin 1824-1907 / by Mark McCartney -- George Johnstone Stoney 1826-1911 / by James G. O'Hara -- George Francis FitzGerald 1851-1901 / by John J. O'Connor and Edmund F. Robertson --John Joly 1857-1933 / by Denis Weaire and Stephen Coonan -- Joseph Larmor 1857-1942 / by Raymond Flood -- Frederick Thomas Trouton 1863-1922 / by James G. O'Hara -- John Sealy Edward Townsend 1868-1957 / by Mark McCartney -- John A. McClelland 1870-1920 / by Thomas C. O'Connor -- Erwin Schrödinger 1887-1961 / by Andrew Whitaker -- Cornelius Lanczos 1893-1974 / by Barbara Gellai -- John Synge 1897-1995 / by Petros S. Florides -- John Desmond Bernal 1901-1971 / by Roy Johnston -- Ernest Walton 1903-1995 / by Brian Cathcart -- Walter Heitler 1904-1981 / by David Glass -- Sir William McCrea 1904-1999 / by Iwan Williams -- Cormac Ó Ceallaigh 1912-1996 / by Mark McCartney -- David Bates 1916-1994 / by Ray Flannery -- John Stewart Bell 1928-1990 / by Andrew Whitaker -- Lochlainn Ó Raifeartaigh 1933-2000 / by Siddhartha Sen -- Index of names.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
QC15 .P49 2003 Adult Non-Fiction Central Closed Stacks

On Order



Demonstrating the strength of tradition in Ireland, Physicists of Ireland: Passion and Precision is a collection of essays on leading figures from the history of physics in Ireland. It includes physicists born outside of Ireland who carried out significant work in Ireland as well as those who had strong Irish roots but carried out their work outside of Ireland. The book is well illustrated with diagrams and photos of historical interest and rounded off with useful suggestions for further reading. It might come as a surprise to many that several leading English physicists are actually from Ireland.

Reviews 1

Choice Review

The human family has evolved into different groups, nations, races, and religions, and each of these has its own genius and special gifts. Every nation has heroes and heroines in its scientists; to recognize them in special ways is not to deny the internationalism of science, but to show how science has evolved under varying cultural and linguistic conditions. Ireland can certainly pride herself on the number and quality of her scientists. In this collection, the lives and contributions of 32 Irish physicists are recalled; Boyle, Hamilton, Stokes, and Kelvin are among the best known. Schrodinger, Lanczos, and Heitler are included because they moved to Ireland in the prime of life. Boole is excluded; he was a mathematician rather than a physicist. Other Irishmen who chose to settle down elsewhere are not here either, except for John Stuart Bell (of Bell's Theorem fame), who worked for many years beyond the shores of Ireland. The narratives are interesting and within reach of average educated readers. The absence of women from the list says as much about humanity's cultural past as about Ireland, for this is not a uniquely Irish embarrassment. A very readable and informative work to inspire young people. Summing Up: Recommended. Upper-division undergraduates through faculty. V. V. Raman emeritus, Rochester Institute of Technology