Cover image for Going for the one
Going for the one
Yes (Musical group)
Corporate Author:
Publication Information:
Burbank, CA : Elektra, [2003]

Physical Description:
1 audio disc : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
General Note:
Lyrics on container insert.

Originally released in 1977; this reissue "expanded & remastered."

Compact disc.
Going for the one -- Turn of the century -- Parallels -- Wonderous stories -- Awaken -- Montreux's theme -- Vevey (Revisited) -- Amazing grace -- Going for the one (rehearsal) -- Parallels (rehearsal) -- Turn of the century (rehearsal) -- Eastern number (early version of Awaken).
Format :
Music CD


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
XX(1246443.2) Compact Disc Open Shelf

On Order



Going for the One is perhaps the most overlooked item in the Yes catalog. It marked Rick Wakeman's return to the band after a three-year absence, and also a return to shorter song forms after the experimentalism of Close to the Edge, Tales from Topographic Oceans, and Relayer. In many ways, this disc could be seen as the follow-up to Fragile. Its five tracks still retain mystical, abstract lyrical images, and the music is grand and melodic, the vocal harmonies perfectly balanced by the stinging guitar work of Steve Howe, Wakeman's keyboards, and the solid rhythms of Alan White and Chris Squire. The title track features Howe on steel guitar (he's the only prog rocker who bothers with the instrument). "Turn of the Century" and the album's single, "Wonderous Stories," are lovely ballads the way only Yes can do them. "Parallels" is the album's big, pompous song, so well done that in later years the band opened concerts with it. Wakeman's stately church organ, recorded at St. Martin's Church, Vevey, Switzerland, sets the tone for this "Roundabout"-ish track. The concluding "Awaken" is the album's nod to the extended suite. Again, the lyrics are spacy in the extreme, but Jon Anderson and Squire are dead-on vocally, and the addition of Anderson's harp and White's tuned percussion round out this evocative track. ~ Ross Boissoneau