Cover image for Time of the wolves : western stories
Time of the wolves : western stories
Muller, Marcia.
Personal Author:
First edition.
Publication Information:
Waterville, Me. : Five Star, 2003.
Physical Description:
216 pages ; 23 cm
Sweet cactus wine -- The Sanchez sacraments -- Cave of ice (with Bill Pronzini) -- Time of the wolves -- Sisters -- The lost coast -- Forbidden things -- Knives at midnight -- The Indian witch -- The cyaniders.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks

On Order



Marcia Muller is one of the finest authors of detective fiction, however, she also writes Western stories. When the title story first appeared, it not only won a Spur Award from the Western Writers of America, but went on to inspire a motion picture. This is an extraordinary collection of Western stories by a truly outstanding author, stories that can and will be read and reread with sustaining enjoyment.

Author Notes

Marcia Muller, novelist, short-story writer and anthologist, was born in Detroit in 1944. She attended the University of Michigan, where she studied writing.

Edwin of the Iron Shoes (1977) was her first book featuring Sharon McCone, a female private eye strong enough to compete in the male-dominated crime genre. In 1993, Muller was given the Private Eye Writers of America Life Achievement Award, and the following year her novel Wolf in the Shadows won the Anthony Boucher Award and was nominated for the Edgar Allen Poe Award for Best Crime Novel.

Muller is the co-author of the Carpenter and Quincannon Mystery series with Bill Pronzini.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 1

Booklist Review

Muller, the author of the popular and long-running Sharon McCone detective series, also produces fiction with a western setting. In fact the title piece in this collection earned her a Spur award from the Western Writers of America. Among the highlights is Sweet Cactus Wine, in which a widow fends off the attention of an unwanted suitor with a little assistance from a giant saguaro cactus. In The Cyaniders --written especially for this collection--husband and wife geologists team up to discover a killer in a remote mining town. Forbidden Things recounts the revelations of a woman who confronts her past in the ruins of a long-abandoned mountain cabin. McCone is present in two stories: The Lost Coast and Knives at Midnight, and in Cave of Ice, in which a father and son learn the value of openness in their relationship, Muller teams up with husband and acclaimed author Bill Pronzini. Devoted fans of the McCone series will enjoy this example of Muller's versatility. --Wes Lukowsky Copyright 2003 Booklist