Cover image for Ebbets to Veeck to Busch : eight owners who shaped baseball
Ebbets to Veeck to Busch : eight owners who shaped baseball
Boxerman, Burton Alan, 1933-
Publication Information:
Jefferson, N. C. : McFarland & Co., [2003]

Physical Description:
ix, 248 pages : illustrations ; 23 cm
Added Author:
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
GV865.A1 B644 2003 Adult Non-Fiction Central Closed Stacks

On Order



Of baseball there have been countless books, but, surprisingly, relatively few about the owners, the men and women who invested their time--and, frequently, their fortunes--in baseball teams. What has been written tends to concentrate on the financial aspects of ownership or individual owners and their private lives, and pays less attention to the enduring contributions certain owners have made. Eight owners and their lasting influences on the game are the focus of this book. Charles Ebbets, Barney Dreyfuss, Helene Britton, Clark Griffith, Walter O'Malley, Bill Veeck, Charles Finley and August Busch were chosen for inclusion not only because of their larger contributions but also because they were hands-on owners who ran their teams decisively. For instance, Helene Britton proved that a knowledgable woman could successfully run a ball club, even if she couldn't vote; Bill Veeck hired the first black player in the American League, introduced exploding scoreboards and was the first owner to put his players' names on the backs of their uniforms; Walter O'Malley relocated his Dodgers to the West Coast and convinced Giants owner Horace Stoneham to bring his team out too.

Author Notes

A member of the Society for American Baseball Research, Burton A. Boxerman taught history for 30 years and contributes to numerous historical journals. A longtime baseball fan, he lives in St. Louis, Missouri. Writer and researcher Benita W. Boxerman is retired from one of the largest public relations firms in the United States and is a member of SABR. She lives in St. Louis, Missouri.

Table of Contents

Charles H. EbbetsBarney DreyfussHelene BrittonClark GriffithWalter O'MalleyBill VeeckCharles FinleyAugust Busch
Dedicationp. v
Acknowledgmentsp. vii
Prefacep. 1
1 The Visionaryp. 3
2 The Puristp. 29
3 The Feministp. 55
4 The Persuaderp. 71
5 The Prospectorp. 98
6 The Populistp. 124
7 The Maverickp. 152
8 The CEOp. 178
Notesp. 205
Bibliographyp. 229
Indexp. 237