Cover image for Follow the star : Christmas stories that changed my life
Follow the star : Christmas stories that changed my life
Jakes, T. D.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Putnam, [2003]

Physical Description:
viii, 230 pages ; 20 cm
Subject Term:
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
GT4985 .J34 2003 Adult Non-Fiction Non-Fiction Area-Holiday
GT4985 .J34 2003 Adult Non-Fiction Holiday
GT4985 .J34 2003 Adult Non-Fiction Open Shelf

On Order



Sharing the Christmas stories that touched his heart and shaped his life, beloved preacher Jakes colourfully recounts childhood memories and deeply personal experiences that illuminate the significance of the yuletide season - family stories about finding the Christmas spirit while overcoming economic or emotional hardships, stories about remembering to appreciate the real gifts of fellowship, love and God. Mixed with biblical anecdotes this inspiring, heartwarming and joyful volume will be a treasured collection of wisdom and warmth for many Christmases to come.

Author Notes

T. D. Jakes, Bishop T. D. Jakes was born and raised in Charleston, West Virginia. He received a Doctorate of Ministry and was the founder and senior pastor of the Temple of Faith Ministries in Charleston for sixteen years. He relocated with T. D. Jakes Ministries, in 1996, to Dallas, Texas. Bishop Jakes is also the CEO for T. D. Jakes Ministries and has promoted hundreds of conferences across the country.

He is the author of the bestsellers "Woman, Thou Art Loosed!," "Naked And Not Ashamed," "Can You Stand To Be Blessed," "Daddy Loves His Girls," "The Harvest," and "Loose That Man And Let Him Go." He serves on the board of directors and as a contributing writer for several religious magazines. He also has a weekly television broadcast called Get Ready with T. D. Jakes, which is aired in several countries throughout the world, and Bishop Jakes was named one of the nation's most influential ministers by The New York Times.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 2

Publisher's Weekly Review

Spend time with the people you love; remember that Jesus is the real reason for the holiday; don?t lose sight of the important things in the holiday rush. These are familiar Christmas lessons, but Bishop Jakes?s charismatic style infuses them with new freshness in this endearing book of personal remembrances of the Christmas season. Quite a stretch from Jakes?s usual fare (Woman, Thou Art Loosed; God?s Leading Lady), this volume aims to pull the essence out of the Bible?s Christmas story, connecting the significance of the star that led the wise men to the infant Savior, to the greater Star, Jesus Christ. ?Without Him, the paths we travel on during our years here are rocky and slippery, our days are dark and empty,? Jakes writes. ?He is not only the one we worship; He is the one we follow.? Jakes uses the ongoing theme of following Jesus to encourage his readers to dream big dreams, to have the patience to see them realized in God?s timing and to retain hope no matter how tough the circumstances. Such uplifting moral lessons are made even more pleasant by the author?s inclusion of personal holiday anecdotes. He mentions his pleasure in cooking up tasty Christmas treats, for example, and his dread of climbing onto the roof to take down lights once December 25th has passed. Warm, touching and comical at the same time, this charming book will be a cheerful addition to the shelf during the holidays, with meaningful principles that apply all year long. (Nov. 3) Copyright 2003 Reed Business Information.

Library Journal Review

A best-selling author, advocate for women's issues, and longtime pastor of the Potter's House in Dallas, Bishop Jakes (God's Leading Lady) lets us in on the true meaning of Christmas. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Table of Contents

Introductionp. 1
1 Life Is a Journeyp. 7
2 Come, Ye Thankful Peoplep. 19
3 Exceedingly Abundantlyp. 29
4 You Have His Word on Itp. 43
5 Night-Lightsp. 55
6 Angels Watching Over Me, My Lordp. 69
7 Bringing in the Sheavesp. 79
8 Burning Down the Old Schoolp. 89
9 Be Careful What You Wish Forp. 101
10 Little Thingsp. 113
11 A Little Child Shall Lead Themp. 125
12 God's Timing Is Perfectp. 135
13 Don't Wait Too Latep. 147
14 God Always Has a Planp. 157
15 God Works with Woodp. 169
16 Let It Gop. 179
17 Back to the Futurep. 189
18 'Tis the Seasonp. 199
19 The Gift That Keeps on Givingp. 211
20 The Gift Remainsp. 221