Cover image for Hydra and the bananas of Leonard Cohen : a search for serenity in the sun (a Greek parabola for us all)
Title:
Hydra and the bananas of Leonard Cohen : a search for serenity in the sun (a Greek parabola for us all)
Author:
Green, Roger, 1940-
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Basic Books, [2003]

©2003
Physical Description:
xiii, 217 pages ; 25 cm
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780465027590
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library CT1118.G74 A3 2003 Adult Non-Fiction Central Closed Stacks
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

English poet Roger Green left the safety of God, country, and whiskey to immerse himself in an austere and sober life on the Greek Island of Hydra. But when Green discovered that his terrace overlooked the garden of sixties balladeer Leonard Cohen, he became obsessed with Cohen's songs, wives, and banana tree. Hydra starts with a poem the author wrote and recited for his fifty-seventh birthday (borrowing the meter of Cohen's "Suzanne," and ripe with references to the song), with Cohen's ex-partner Suzanne, who may or may not be the subject of Cohen's song, in the audience. By turns playful and philosophic, Green's unconventional memoir tells the story of his journey down the rabbit hole of obsession, as he confronts the meaning of poetry, history, and his own life. Beginning as a poetic meditation upon Leonard Cohen's bananas, Green's bardic pilgrimage takes the reader on various twists and turns until, at last, the poet accepts the joy of accepting his fate.


Author Notes

Roger Green is an English poet living on the Greek island of Hydra. Among his publications are several books of poetry, including Wolvercote Dreaming, assisted by a grant from the Arts Council of Great Britain. Notes from Overground by Tiresias, subtitled A Commuter's Notebook, saw the light in 1984. His translation of the Akathistos Hymn by Romanos the Melodist was published in 1987. A further collection of poetry, With It Or On It, appeared in 2000


Reviews 1

Publisher's Weekly Review

A British poet turns 53, moves to a Greek island, becomes obsessed with the island's most famous ex-resident-singer/songwriter Leonard Cohen-and writes a book about it all. It's an eclectic mixture of memoir, diary, scrapbook and philosophical ramblings. Green, the poet, finds himself living next door to a garden full of banana trees owned by 1970s pop star Cohen (referred to only by the initial "L."). Inexplicably, Green becomes powerfully attracted to the bananas and their absent owner. He begins to see bananas everywhere: in the Old Testament (did Adam and Eve clothe themselves in banana leaves?), in Robbe-Grillet poems, on the cover of L.'s album I'm Your Man. He even goes so far as to befriend some of L.'s old acquaintances on the island, including a fellow poet and L.'s former lover, Suzanne, who is, alas, not the Suzanne of the famous L. song. The goal of all this good-natured stalking is unclear, but this isn't a book of goals, or even conclusions; it's simply an expression of what is, clearly, an enviable and rewarding existence. Green's idiosyncrasies occasionally annoy-as when he starts a new paragraph with the sentence, "I think I'll start a new paragraph"-but just as often he produces little treasures, such as a raunchy 1950s rumba celebrating "Chiquita Banana, down in Martinique," who "dresses in bananas with the modern technique." (Sept.) Forecast: Green's many-headed book should appeal to fans of Trout Fishing in America, Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance and other whimsical literature. (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


Table of Contents

Prologuep. xiii
Introductionp. 1
Fun de Sieclep. 4
Notes to Fun de Sieclep. 7
Singing Southp. 20
Banana Updatep. 39
Interleavesp. 45
Steve Notesp. 57
Voyeurp. 64
My Journeyp. 77
Homecomingp. 96
Enclosed Gardenp. 105
Death in This Bookp. 125
Rag-and-Bone Shopp. 137
Of Angels and Wolvesp. 145
Emergency Exitp. 151
Suzannep. 165
Sleepwalkingp. 186
Mister Bowles and Mister Greenp. 196
In Betweenp. 204
Works Citedp. 209
Acknowledgmentsp. 215
About the Authorp. 217

Google Preview