Cover image for No more lies
Title:
No more lies
Author:
Squires, Susan.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Dorchester Pub. Co., [2003]

©2003
Physical Description:
406 pages ; 18 cm.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780505525666
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library X Adult Mass Market Paperback Central Library
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

The head of a psychology clinic fears she’s going crazy when she begins to hear other people’s thoughts—but while her new talent drags her into a mire of intrigue, it also brings her closer to the man of her dreams.


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Dr. Holland Banks hears voices in her head, and her nightmares have turned into reality. In fact, it seems as though she has become as crazy as the patients she sees at the plush, private Century Psychiatric Hospital. And she is being stalked by investigative reporter Jeff McQueen. Jeff is also hearing voices, the same ones that are plaguing Holland, but, oddly enough, when the two of them touch, the voices stop, leaving their telepathic link to each other intact. Squires' fast-paced conspiracy novel gives readers a run for their money, and then some. Evil government officials, nefarious drug companies, and even Holland's own father, who's involved in Mengele-like genetic experiments, are all potential villains, but the plot twists and turns until the bad and the good begin to blend. Readers who enjoy Michael Creighton and Robin Cook will be delighted to discover that Squires, a master of the epic historical novel, is also a master of suspense. --Shelley Mosley Copyright 2003 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

All of the elements that made Squires's previous sci-fi romantic suspense novel, Body Electric, such an eye-popping read manifest themselves here-a feverish romance, a pervasive sense of danger and an exhilarating chase full of adrenaline-fueled encounters. This time, however, Squires shifts her focus from the computer sciences to the biological sciences, deftly tackling the ethical issues surrounding genetic research and skewering both religious and scientific fanaticism. The story opens sluggishly as psychiatrist Holland Banks struggles with her belief that she's going crazy. Not only does she hear voices, but she's convinced that a man in a plaid shirt is stalking her. As it turns out, he is. Reporter Jeff McQueen hears the voices too, and he thinks Holland can help quiet them. Holland spends the first several chapters dodging Jeff and her narcissistic father, who wants her help with his latest genetic manipulation experiment. When she finally teams up with Jeff and they realize that they share an abnormal but extraordinary gene, they find themselves on the run from a power-hungry senator, his hitmen and the Army. The scientific supposition supporting the story-that a genetic mutation can be passed via a virus-is murky, and secondary characters like Jeff's bible-thumping father lack dimension. However, few romantic suspense authors know how to write a chase sequence as thrillingly as Squires, and readers who journey beyond the slow first half will find themselves hopelessly engaged. (Oct.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


Google Preview