Cover image for Paul Revere's ride
Title:
Paul Revere's ride
Author:
Longfellow, Henry Wadsworth, 1807-1882.
Publication Information:
Honesdale, Pa. : Boyds Mills Press, [2003]

©2003
Physical Description:
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 23 x 29 cm
Summary:
An illustrated version of Longfellow's classic poem about Paul Revere.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781563977992
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
PS2271 .P3 2003 Juvenile Non-Fiction Central Closed Stacks
Searching...
Searching...
PS2271 .P3 2003 Juvenile Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
PS2271 .P3 2003 Juvenile Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
PS2271 .P3 2003 Juvenile Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
PS2271 .P3 2003 Juvenile Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
PS2271 .P3 2003 Juvenile Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
PS2271 .P3 2003 Juvenile Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
PS2271 .P3 2003 Juvenile Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
PS2271 .P3 2003 Juvenile Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
PS2271 .P3 2003 Juvenile Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
PS2271 .P3 2003 Juvenile Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
PS2271 .P3 2003 Juvenile Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Boyds Mills Press publishes a wide range of high-quality fiction and nonfiction picture books, chapter books, novels, and nonfiction


Author Notes

During his lifetime, Longfellow enjoyed a popularity that few poets have ever known. This has made a purely literary assessment of his achievement difficult, since his verse has had an effect on so many levels of American culture and society. Certainly, some of his most popular poems are, when considered merely as artistic compositions, found wanting in serious ways: the confused imagery and sentimentality of "A Psalm of Life" (1839), the excessive didacticism of "Excelsior" (1841), the sentimentality of "The Village Blacksmith" (1839). Yet, when judged in terms of popular culture, these works are probably no worse and, in some respects, much better than their counterparts in our time.

Longfellow was very successful in responding to the need felt by Americans of his time for a literature of their own, a retelling in verse of the stories and legends of these United States, especially New England. His three most popular narrative poems are thoroughly rooted in American soil. "Evangeline: A Tale of Acadie" (1847), an American idyll; "The Song of Hiawatha" (1855), the first genuinely native epic in American poetry; and "The Courtship of Miles Standish" (1858), a Puritan romance of Longfellow's own ancestors, John Alden and Priscilla Mullens. "Paul Revere's Ride," the best known of the "Tales of a Wayside Inn"(1863), is also intensely national. Then, there is a handful of intensely personal, melancholy poems that deal in very successful ways with those themes not commonly thought of as Longfellow's: sorrow, death, frustration, the pathetic drift of humanity's existence. Chief among these are "My Lost Youth" (1855), "Mezzo Cammin" (1842), "The Ropewalk" (1854), "The Jewish Cemetery at Newport" (1852), and, most remarkable in its artistic success, "The Cross of Snow," a heartfelt sonnet so personal in its expression of the poet's grief for his dead wife that it remained unpublished until after Longfellow's death. A professor of modern literature at Harvard College, Longfellow did much to educate the general reading public in the literatures of Europe by means of his many anthologies and translations, the most important of which was his masterful rendition in English of Dante's Divine Comedy (1865-67).

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

Gr. 2^-5. Maybe it's the swelling tide of patriotism or just coincidence, but the spring publishing season has brought two new picture-book editions of Longfellow's "Paul Revere's Ride." Both are colorful, attractive, and well researched, and either book will make a good companion to Stephen Krensky's historically accurate prose version of the same events, Paul Revere's Midnight Ride (2002). Of the two new books, Vachula's version offers more decorative artwork--bordered paintings that place historical events within the context of a broader setting. The pictures, full-page and smaller on the verso, depict quiet scenes--a cat stalking through a churchyard; a picture of sheep and cattle in the farmyard with the small figure of Paul Revere riding by in the background. Figures in motion seem somehow arrested for a moment in time. In contrast, Santore's more dynamic paintings seem barely contained within the edges of the pages. They thrust the viewer right into the action, with cinematic close-ups of characters as well as broader scenes in which Revere urgently rides to spread the alarm and his countrymen rise up to battle the British. Even a relatively quiet churchyard scene is full of motion, with curving, crisscrossing paths that draw the eye precipitously down to the town and the river below. In the tradition of N. C. Wyeth and Howard Pyle, these dramatic pictures have great appeal. If there's money in the budget and room on the shelf next to the excellent editions of Longfellow's poem illustrated by Christopher Bing (2001) and Ted Rand (1990), consider both books, which provide new, yet traditional, visions of this classic American poem. --Carolyn Phelan


Publisher's Weekly Review

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow's classic Paul Revere's Ride is newly interpreted with illustrations by Monica Vachula. Throughout, detailed oil paintings are framed against a textured backdrop, which looks like antique linen. Smaller inset illustrations (of the two lamps, or the "startled... pigeons") appear beneath each stanza. Paintings of New England livestock, and a closing portrait of Revere are especially well rendered. (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


School Library Journal Review

Gr 2-5-Another version of Longfellow's classic poem is brought to light. Vachula has chosen a burlaplike background for her historically accurate oil paintings, giving not only an antique but also a homey feel to her work. Each spread features 5 to 16 lines from the poem and a small picture opposite a full painting. For instance, the "spark/Struck out by a steed" is accompanied by a close-up of a powder horn, while another page that tells of the patriot who would be "Pierced by a British musket-ball" shows the fallen soldier being attended by a clergyman. Each thumbnail sketch draws attention to specific ideas that might otherwise be lost in the larger illustration. Although Longfellow's poem is not known for its total historical accuracy, Vachula's paintings are so carefully rendered that anyone familiar with the area will recognize Paul Revere's house, the Old North Church, and the bridge at Lexington and Concord. Done primarily in somber blues, greens, and gray tones, the artwork conveys the seriousness of the political situation and makes the touches of red from the grenadiers' uniforms all the more startling. Much more traditional than Jeffrey Thompson's highly stylized art in The Midnight Ride of Paul Revere (National Geographic, 2000) and even more realistic than the engravings and paintings by Christopher Bing (Handprint, 2001), this edition will be welcomed by purists who prefer an almost photographic look at Revere's historic ride.-Nancy Menaldi-Scanlan, LaSalle Academy, Providence, RI (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.