Cover image for Catskills country style
Title:
Catskills country style
Author:
Gross, Steve.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Rizzoli, 2002.
Physical Description:
208 pages : color illustrations ; 26 cm
General Note:
Includes index.
Language:
English
Added Author:
ISBN:
9780847824687
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
NK2004 .G667 2002 Adult Non-Fiction Non-Fiction Area
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

The Catskills is the favored new retreat for New Yorkers. Only ninety minutes from the city, it's closer than the Hamptons and much more affordable. As a consequence, this once thriving area is having a huge revival as a weekend-vacation place. Catskills Country Style, the first book of its kind on the Catskills and its new style--what might be called urban-country-folk design--showcases this new style in the cottages and cabins of the region. Intriguing historic houses are included as well as a collection of more contemporary homes. Among these is Olana, the 1860s Moorish-style country estate of Frederic Church, the great American landscape artist and leading figure of the Hudson River School of painting. Also included is Pennyroyal Cottage, the 1880s first American woman to have her own design firm. These historic houses are the forerunners of the retreats of many current New York City-based artists, bohemians, designers, and stylists.
Current owners of Catskills country style houses are instrumental in shaping trends of today's look. These stylish innovators are creating an aesthetic with a new twist, recycling ideas as well as furniture with an individualistic philosophy that features an eclectic mix of flea market, yard sale, antique and handmade furniture, sometimes peppered with the latest international high-design avant-garde furnishings. This is a book in the tradition of Rizzoli's Charleston Style and Santa Barbara Style, and give us a glimpse into the homes and lifestyles of an influential and fascinating group of people.


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Daley and Gross are itinerant photographers, and beautiful color images make up the bulk of these stunning volumes that celebrate regional design. Catskills begins with an evocative introduction by author Francine Prose that reflects on the area's timeless quality and the "reckless (yet tasteful) disregard" for a single historical style as seen in the book's range of humble cabins, rambling farmhouses, stark contemporary structures, and wildly ornate mansions--rusticity and elegance combined. In Santa Fe, a brief, readable history of the region by art historian Lucy Lippard remarks on the "land of contrasts" and the vitality of the local culture. As in Catskills, the authors' selection of Santa Fe homes finds the recurring themes in an eclectic blend of residences. Included are austere, simple adobes and Mexican-influenced interiors marked by wild patterns and vibrant colors. And, as in Catskills, the rooms prominently feature the region's arts-and-crafts rugs, pottery, etc. In both titles, the expert blend of sharp close-ups and long-range photographs that place the homes in their surroundings as well as the insightful commentary combine to make beautiful introductions to both regions' decorative traditions. --Gillian Engberg


Library Journal Review

With a multitude of color photographs, Gross and Daley capture the architecture, gardens, and interiors of houses in Santa Fe, NM, and the Catskill Mountains. The homes depicted range from the historic homes of painter Randall Davey (Santa Fe) and writer John Burroughs (Catskills) to contemporary, modern-style dwellings. Each in some way reflects the vernacular style, whether through adobe and timber construction and the use of Native American and Mexican accessories such as rugs, baskets, and pottery (Santa Fe) or through the rustic wood interiors or decorative items such as local flea-market finds (Catskills). Both books are recommended for large interior design collections and where there is an interest. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.