Cover image for Beyond Ragnarok
Beyond Ragnarok
Reichert, Mickey Zucker.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York, NY : DAW Books Inc., [1996]

Physical Description:
744 pages ; 18 cm.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X Adult Mass Market Paperback Central Closed Stacks

On Order



Book one of the acclaimed, bestselling epic fantasy Renshai Chronicles--discover the intricate Renshai universe, infused with Norse mythology, tangled intrigue, and cataclysmic magical battles.

They've survived the end of the universe.

But now, nearly three hundred years after the time of Ragnarok--the death battle of the gods--humankind faces a new and potentially fatal trial. The balance between Law and Chaos has long been maintained by the rulers of Bearn, but with the current king dying, a new keeper of neutrality must be found among his heirs.

When the search becomes desperate, a small band forms in secret to seek out the last possible heir. The team--consisting of the king's granddaughter, a knight in training, an apprentice bard, a young and untested Renshai warrior, and a fickle thief--struggle to survive the perils of the wild as well as enemies equipped with magical powers.

And if any of them actually reach their goal, can they bring the one remaining heir back to Bearn alive?

Author Notes

Mickey Zucker Reichert is a pseudonym for Miriam Susan Zucker. An American science fiction and fantasy author, she was born in 1962. In addition to being a writer, she is also a pediatrician.

Reichert was recently chosen by the estate of Isaac Asimov to write three prequels to I, Robot. In all, she has published over 22 novels and 50 short stories. She is known for the Renshai Chronicles, as well as, the Beasts of Barakhai and The Bifrost Guardians series. (Bowker Author Biography)