Cover image for Freddy goes to Florida
Freddy goes to Florida
Brooks, Walter R., 1886-1958.
Uniform Title:
To and again
Publication Information:
Woodstock, New York : Overlook Press, 1998.
Physical Description:
196 pages : illustrations ; 21 cm.
Freddy and the other barnyard animals decide to escape the cold winter by vacationing in sunny Florida.
General Note:
Previously published as: To and again.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR MG 5.9 6.0 24945.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X Juvenile Fiction Central Closed Stacks

On Order



first published between 1927 and 1958, the 26 classic books about Freddy the Pig have delighted five generations of children and are now going on to delight a sixth. They are available for the first time as Overlook paperbacks.

Walter R. Brooks introduced Freddy the Pig in Freddy Goes to Florida. Freddy and his friends from Bean Farm migrate south for the winter, with every mile of the way a terrific adventure complete with bumbling robbers and a nasty bunch of alligators. This is vintage Freddy and the whole ensemble cast at their charming best.

Author Notes

Walter R. Brooks was born on January 9, 1886 in Rome, New York. He attended the Mohegan Lake Military Academy from 1902 to 1904 and the University of Rochester from 1904 to 1906. In 1906 he went to New York City to study homeopathic medicine at the Homeopathic Medical College and Flower Hospital. He dropped out of medical school at the end of 1908. He found employment with an advertising agency, and then temporarily retired in 1911 after receiving a considerable inheritance. In 1917, he went to work for the American Red Cross and later did editorial work for several magazines, including The New Yorker.

In 1915, his first work, a sonnet titled Haunted, was published in the Century magazine. He is best remembered for his short stories and children's books. His first short story for adults, Harden's Chance, appeared in the Forum magazine for December 1915. Altogether he published more than 180 stories. His short story, Ed Signs the Pledge, about a talking horse was the basis for the 1960s television comedy series Mister Ed. He published one novel for adults, Ernestine Takes Over and a guidebook, New York: An Intimate Guide. The first Freddy the Pig book, To and Again, was published in 1927. He wrote 25 more books wrote about Freddy the Pig and his friends. He died on August 17, 1958.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 1

Publisher's Weekly Review

Available for the first time in paperback, Freddy the Pig stars in two adventures. In the first, fresh from reading about Sherlock Holmes, Freddy is drafted to solve several disappearances on Bean farm. In the second, the porcine hero and his friends escape the drafty barn for a vacation in sunny Florida. Ages 9-12. (July) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved