Cover image for The 13 culprits = Les 13 culprits
The 13 culprits = Les 13 culprits
Simenon, Georges, 1903-1989.
First edition.
Publication Information:
Norfolk, VA : Crippen & Landru, [2002]

Physical Description:
173 pages ; 23 cm
Geographic Term:
Added Author:
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks

On Order



The first translation in English of Simenon's classic short story collection

Author Notes

The prolific Belgian-born writer Georges Simenon produced hundreds of fictional works under his own name and 17 pseudonyms, in addition to more than 70 books about Inspector Maigret, long "the favorite sleuth of highbrow detective-story readers" (SR). More than 50 "Simenons" have been made into films. In addition to his mystery stories, he wrote what he called "hard" books, the serious psychological novels numbering well over 100. The autobiographical Pedigree, set in his native town of Liege, is perhaps his finest work. The publication of Simenon's intimate memoirs also attracted considerable attention. Simenon himself once said that he would never write a "great novel." Yet Gide called him "a great novelist, perhaps the greatest and truest novelist we have in French literature today," and Thornton Wilder (see Vol. 1) found that Simenon's narrative gift extends "to the tips of his fingers." The following are some of Simenon's novels, exclusive of the Maigret detective stories, that are in print.

(Bowker Author Biography) Georges Simenon was born on February 13, 1903 in Liege, Belgium. He wrote more than 200 fiction works under 16 different pseudonyms. His first book, The Case of Peter the Lent led to 80 more of the like including the main character, Inspector Maigret. He published over 400 books that were translated into 50 different languages and sold by the millions. He also wrote psychological novels, including The Man Who Watched the Train Go By. He died on September 4, 1989 in Lausanne.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 1

Booklist Review

One year before the publication of the first Inspector Maigret story, Simenon published a series of stories about another Parisian sleuth, the icy, cerebral examining magistrate Monsieur Froget. These 13 Froget stories, never before published in English, were the third part of a hit series Simenon wrote for Detective Magazine in 1929-30. The series created a sensation because the endings were not given till several issues later, giving readers the opportunity to write in their own conclusions. Both the Froget stories and their endings appear here. The focus is on social isolates--a spy, an aging "male coquette," a family of bicycle circus performers--who come in contact with the law in the person of M. Froget, who exercises both police and judicial powers. This is a world of seedy apartments, falling-apart people, and thwarted ambition. Froget encounters them all with cold stares and crushing remarks. This is a wonderful collection, revealing a different side of Simenon and opening a window onto a vanished world. Translator Schulman provides an absorbing introduction, explaining Simenon's work habits, the differences between Maigret and the three other sleuths of the Detective series, and the peculiarities of Froget's world, the Paris of the 1920s. Connie Fletcher