Cover image for The lion's grave : dispatches from Afghanistan
Title:
The lion's grave : dispatches from Afghanistan
Author:
Anderson, Jon Lee.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Grove Press, [2002]

©2002
Physical Description:
ix, 244 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
General Note:
Map of Afghanistan on lining papers.
Language:
English
Personal Subject:
ISBN:
9780802117236
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library DS371.4 .A53 2002 Adult Non-Fiction Central Closed Stacks
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Two weeks after the terrorist attacks of September 11, correspondent and bestselling author Anderson became one of the first Western journalists to get into Afghanistan. Distinguished by his gritty, on-the-ground observations, probing interviews, and gift for telling a story, "The Lion's Grave" is war reporting in the tradition of A.J. Liebling and Michael Herr.


Author Notes

Jon Lee Anderson (born January 15, 1957) is a biographer, author, international investigative reporter, and staff writer for The New Yorker, reporting from war zone locales such as Afghanistan, Iraq, Uganda, Israel, El Salvador, Ireland, Lebanon, Iran, and throughout the Middle East. Anderson has also written for The New York Times, Harper's, Life, and The Nation. Anderson is renowned for his numerous profiles of political leaders, including Hugo Chavez, Fidel Castro, and Augusto Pinochet.

Anderson is also the author of the best-selling and definitive 800 + page biography of the iconic Marxist revolutionary Che Guevara. Entitled Che Guevara: A Revolutionary Life, it was first published in 1997. While researching the book in Bolivia, he discovered the hidden location of Guevara's burial from where his skeletal remains were exhumed in 1997 and returned to Cuba.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Anderson, who had reported on the mujahideen's war against the Soviets in Afghanistan a decade earlier, was among the first Western journalists to get back into the country after the September 11, 2001, attack on the U.S. In this graphic account, which includes his diary entries, Anderson recounts the arduous task of developing sources and reporting on the complexities of a nation caught up in its own ethnic and religious conflicts and its place in the new war on terrorism. In one of the book's many ironies, as he travels with a convoy of journalists under the protection of a former Green Beret, he uses high-tech equipment to transmit copy chronicling the hardship of primitive living conditions. Anderson details the search for Osama bin Laden in the caves of Tora Bora and considers, based on interviews with well-placed sources, the possible connections between the terrorist attack on the U.S. and the assassination of Ahmed Shah Massoud, the head of the Northern Alliance, two days earlier. A compelling look at the war and politics of an international hot spot. --Vanessa Bush


Library Journal Review

9/11 Afghanistan has long been one of the least developed countries in the world. It was elevated to the forefront of the Cold War after the Soviet Union's invasion and the bloody war that ensued for the next decade. After the Soviet withdrawal, Afghanistan descended into a long period of chaos, destruction, and hopelessness engendered by the ongoing civil war. It was in this atmosphere that Osama bin Laden, the Saudi millionaire turned terrorist, found a convenient base of operations. In this book, Anderson, a veteran foreign correspondent and a staff writer for The New Yorker who had previously covered the Afghan war against the Soviet Union, presents a riveting account of developments in Afghanistan since September 11, 2001. The author's reporting reflects an astute understanding of the constellation of sociopolitical forces in today's Afghanistan. Anderson's penetrating observations and his ability to bring life to his subject the fall of Kandahar and Kunduz, the dangerous search of the Tora Bora caves are admirable. Highly recommended for all public and academic libraries. Nader Entessar, Spring Hill Coll., Mobile, AL (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview