Cover image for The lion's grave : dispatches from Afghanistan
Title:
The lion's grave : dispatches from Afghanistan
Author:
Anderson, Jon Lee.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Grove Press, [2002]

©2002
Physical Description:
ix, 244 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
General Note:
Map of Afghanistan on lining papers.
Language:
English
Personal Subject:
ISBN:
9780802117236
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
DS371.4 .A53 2002 Adult Non-Fiction Central Closed Stacks
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Two weeks after the terrorist attacks of September 11, correspondent and bestselling author Anderson became one of the first Western journalists to get into Afghanistan. Distinguished by his gritty, on-the-ground observations, probing interviews, and gift for telling a story, "The Lion's Grave" is war reporting in the tradition of A.J. Liebling and Michael Herr.


Author Notes

Jon Lee Anderson (born January 15, 1957) is a biographer, author, international investigative reporter, and staff writer for The New Yorker, reporting from war zone locales such as Afghanistan, Iraq, Uganda, Israel, El Salvador, Ireland, Lebanon, Iran, and throughout the Middle East. Anderson has also written for The New York Times, Harper's, Life, and The Nation. Anderson is renowned for his numerous profiles of political leaders, including Hugo Chavez, Fidel Castro, and Augusto Pinochet.

Anderson is also the author of the best-selling and definitive 800 + page biography of the iconic Marxist revolutionary Che Guevara. Entitled Che Guevara: A Revolutionary Life, it was first published in 1997. While researching the book in Bolivia, he discovered the hidden location of Guevara's burial from where his skeletal remains were exhumed in 1997 and returned to Cuba.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Anderson, New Yorker correspondent and author of the best-seller Che Guevara (1997), was one of the first Western journalists to get into Afghanistan right after the September 11 attacks. The subject matter and considerable promotion will spell readership demand at the library.


Library Journal Review

New Yorker correspondent Anderson drops into Afghanistan two weeks after the September 11 catastrophe. A 50,000- copy first printing. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.