Cover image for Elizabeti's school
Title:
Elizabeti's school
Author:
Bodeen, S. A. (Stephanie A.), 1965-
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Lee & Low Books, [2002]

©2002
Physical Description:
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 25 cm
Summary:
Although she enjoys her first day at school, Elizabeti misses her family and wonders if it wouldn't be better to stay home.
General Note:
"Sequel to: Mama Elizabeti"--T.p. verso.
Language:
English
Reading Level:
AD 590 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR LG 3.8 0.5 60897.

Reading Counts RC K-2 3.7 2 Quiz: 31957 Guided reading level: L.
Added Author:
ISBN:
9781584300434
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library PIC.BK. Juvenile Fiction Central Closed Stacks
Searching...
Frank E. Merriweather Library PIC. BK. Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Illustrated by Christy Hale. It is the first day of school and Elizabeti can hardly wait, sure that school is a very special place. Shortly after arriving at school, Elizabeti begins to miss her family, but she is soon making friends and learning her lessons. Best of all, she can share her experiences with her family and apply what she has learned that very evening. In this contemporary Tanzanian story, readers are sure to recognise the innocent emotions of a young girl as she copes with her first day of school and discovers the joy of learning. Ages 4-8.


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

PreS^-Gr. 1. As in Elizabeti's Doll (1998) and Mama Elizabeth (2000), this picture book about a child in contemporary Tanzania shows the particulars of her place as well as her connections with children everywhere. It is Elizabeti's first day of school. She is scared of the classroom and the uproar in the schoolyard, but she is drawn into the kids' games and the teacher's lessons. When she arrives home, she tells her loving family about her day and even applies some of what she has learned. Everything is almost too perfect, especially the idyllic, always smiling family, but kids starting school will relate to Elizabeti's nervousness and her excitement. Stuve-Bodeen, a Peace Corps volunteer in Tanzania in the 1980s, gets the local details right: the simple school uniforms, the playground games, the occasional Swahili words. Hale's light-filled collage illustrations combine watercolor and cut paper to create a strong sense of a happy kid in the embrace of a nurturing family that helps her to take this big step on her own. --Hazel RochmanHoliday Books Roundup, Part Two


Publisher's Weekly Review

Fans of Elizabeti's Doll and Mama Elizabeti will welcome the third title in the series, Elizabeti's School by Stephanie Stuve-Bodeen, illus. by Christy Hale. Elizabeti looks forward to her first day of school but, once she arrives, she wonders what her family is doing at home. (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


School Library Journal Review

K-Gr 2-Elizabeti is excited about her first day of school and her new clothes, but when faced with the noisy, busy schoolyard, she becomes reticent. A friend leads her into a game similar to jacks, and she is eager to try it. In the classroom, she has difficulty concentrating because of her homesickness. At recess, with the encouragement of an older girl, she enjoys dancing, and, back in the classroom, she easily masters the counting lesson. However, once she is home, she's convinced that she doesn't want to return to class. During the evening, Elizabeti so impresses her family with the knowledge and skills she's learned that she decides that although home is best, she will "-give school another try." This is the perfect story for sharing with young children, most of whom will understand the girl's bittersweet feelings. Her pride and sense of accomplishment in learning are a good lead-in for discussing the joy and purpose of school. As in the other stories about Elizabeti, her family life is rich in love and warmth, although it is apparent that the family is very poor. The predominantly watercolor and mixed-media illustrations help convey all the texture of family life in a Tanzanian village, just as they did in Elizabeti's Doll (1998) and Mama Elizabeti (2000, both Lee & Low).-Lynda Ritterman, Atco Elementary School, Waterford, NJ (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview