Cover image for The dead secret
The dead secret
Collins, Wilkie, 1824-1889.
Personal Author:
Large print edition.
Publication Information:
Leicester : Charnwood, 2002.

Physical Description:
548 pages (large print) ; 24 cm
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X Adult Large Print - Floating collection Floating Collection - Large Print

On Order



A mystery of unrelenting suspense and penetrating characterization, The Dead Secret explores the relationship between a fallen woman, her illegitimate daughter, and buried secrets in a superb blend of romance and Gothic drama. Reprinted here in the only critical edition available, is the textof the first edition, including Collins's preface and revisions. A superb introduction relates the text to Collins's love of the theatre, and previous and subsequent works.

Author Notes

Wilkie Collins was born in London, England on January 8, 1824. He worked first in business and then law, but eventually turned to literature. During his lifetime, he wrote 30 novels, more than 60 short stories, at least 14 plays, and more than 100 non-fiction pieces. His works include Antonia, The Woman in White, The Moonstone, The Haunted Hotel, and Heart and Science. He was a close friend of Charles Dickens and collaborated with him. He died on September 23, 1889.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Table of Contents

Select Bibliography
A Chronology of Wilkie Collins
Preface to the Present Editionp. 5
Book I

p. 9

Chapter I The Twenty-Third of August, 1829p. 9
Chapter II The Childp. 23
Chapter III The Hiding of the Secretp. 28
Book II

p. 38

Chapter I Fifteen Years Afterp. 38
Chapter II The Sale of Porthgenna Towerp. 52
Chapter III The Bride and Bridegroomp. 64
Book III

p. 80

Chapter I Timon of Londonp. 80
Chapter II Will They Come?p. 93
Chapter III Mrs Jazephp. 98
Chapter IV The New Nursep. 109
Chapter V A Council of 3p. 131
Chapter VI Another Surprisep. 138
Book IV

p. 146

Chapter I A Plot Against the Secretp. 146
Chapter II Outside the Housep. 162
Chapter III Inside the Housep. 177
Chapter IV Mr Munder on the Seat of Judgmentp. 195
Chapter V Mozart Plays Farewellp. 210
Book V

p. 225

Chapter I An Old Friend and a New Schemep. 225
Chapter II The Beginning of the Endp. 232
Chapter III Approaching the Precipicep. 241
Chapter IV Standing on the Brinkp. 253
Chapter V The Myrtle Roomp. 262
Chapter VI The Telling of the Secretp. 278
Book VI

p. 288

Chapter I Uncle Josephp. 288
Chapter II Waiting and Hopingp. 303
Chapter III The Story of the Pastp. 318
Chapter IV The Close of Dayp. 334
Chapter V 40p. Thousand Pounds
Chapter VI The Dawn of a New Lifep. 360
Explanatory Notesp. 363