Cover image for Revisiting Stephen King : a critical companion
Revisiting Stephen King : a critical companion
Russell, Sharon A., 1941-
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, [2002]

Physical Description:
xi, 171 pages ; 24 cm.
Reading Level:
1140 Lexile.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
PS3561.I483 Z864 2002 Adult Non-Fiction Non-Fiction Area

On Order



Having endured an initially frigid critcal reception, personal struggles with addiction, and a mid-life accident that nearly killed him, Stephen King continues to reign as perhaps the most popular and prolific writer in America. This new edition of the critical companion to his works includes an expanded biographical chapter, featuring King's return to writing after his accident and his groundbreaking experiments in e-publishing. A full chapter is devoted to each of his eight most recently published works of fiction, offering thorough critical treatments of

- Desperation (1996)

- The Green Mile (1997)

- The Regulators (1996)

- Dark Tower IV: Wizard and Glass (1997)

- Bag of Bones (1998)

- The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon (1999)

- Hearts in Atlantis (1999

- Dreamcatcher (2001)

Discussions of character development, thematic concerns, and issues of style and symbolism follow concise plot synopses. An alternate critical perspective is offered for each work. King achievements and placement in the horror genre are reconsidered, especially in light of his more recent forays into suspense fiction, science fiction, fantasy, and other areas of writing. The volume includes a selective list of further suggested readings includes biographical sources, general criticism, and reviews.

Author Notes

SHARON A. RUSSELL is Professor of Communication and Women's Studies at Indiana State University where she teaches courses on film and television. She has published extensively on horror film and literature and detective fiction. She is the author of Stephen King: A Critical Companion (Greenwood Press, 1996). She has also written The Guide to African Cinema .

Table of Contents

Kathleen Gregory Klein
Series Forewordp. ix
Acknowledgmentsp. xiii
1. The Life of Stephen Kingp. 1
2. Genrep. 19
3. Desperation (1996) and The Regulators (1996)p. 35
4. The Green Mile (1997)p. 59
5. Dark Tower IV: Wizard and Glass (1997)p. 75
6. Bag of Bones (1998)p. 91
7. Hearts in Atlantis (1999)p. 105
8. The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon (1999)p. 127
9. Dreamcatcher (2001)p. 139
Bibliographyp. 159
Indexp. 167