Cover image for The collected stories of Greg Bear
The collected stories of Greg Bear
Bear, Greg, 1951-
Personal Author:
Uniform Title:
Short stories. Selections
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Tor, 2002.
Physical Description:
653 pages ; 25 cm
General Note:
"A Tom Doherty Associates book."
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X Adult Fiction Popular Materials-Science Fiction/Fantasy

On Order



This collection of Greg Bear's major short fiction ably demonstrates why Bear is one of science fiction's most popular authors. The multiple Hugo and Nebula Award winner offers here a feast of his most famous stories and novellas, accompanied by thoughtful introductions and afterwords that provide insight into the writer and his process.This collection contains Bear's earliest published fiction from the late 1960s and early 1970s as well his remarkable award-winning work from the 1980s and 1990s-stories like the Hugo and Nebula Award-winning novella-length version of "Blood Music" and the Hugo and Nebula Award-winner "Tangents." Also included are The Wind from a Burning Woman," in which despair and anger inspire a young woman's terrible act of vengeance; "The White Horse Child," a loving look at the nascence of the creative impulse; "Dead Run," in which the road to hell is paved with concrete, and not all intentions are good; and over twenty others.

Author Notes

Greg Bear was born in San Diego, California, on August 20, 1951. He received a Bachelor of Arts degree from San Diego State University in 1973. At age 14, he began submitting pieces to magazines and at 15 he sold his first story to Robert Lowndes' Famous Science Fiction. It would be five years before he sold another piece, but by 23 he was selling stories regularly.

He has written more than 30 science fiction and fantasy books and has won numerous awards for his work. In 1984, Hardfought and Blood Music won the Nebula Awards for best novella and novelette; Blood Music went on to win the Hugo Award. The novel version of that story, also called Blood Music, won the Prix Apollo in France. In 1987, Tangents won the Hugo and Nebula awards for best short story. He also won a Nebula in 1994 for Moving Mars and in 2001 for Darwin's Radio. Both Dinosaur Summer and Darwin's Radio have been awarded the Endeavour for best novel published by a Northwest science fiction author.

He is also an illustrator and his work has appeared in Galaxy, Fantasy and Science Fiction, and Vertex, and in both hardcover and paperback books. He was a founding member of ASFA, the Association of Science Fiction Artists.

His works include City at the End of Time, Hull Zero Three, The Mongoliad, Mariposa, Halo: Cryptum, Halo: Primordium and Halo: Silentium.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Bear's short fiction leans toward length, and Bear classics like "The Wind from a Burning Woman," "Blood Music," "The Fall of the House of Escher," and "Hardfought" have hefty word counts. Other especially notable long shorts are "Heads," on the pursuit of immortality; "Sleepside Story," a variation of Beauty and the Beast showcasing Bear's adeptness with female characters; and "The Way of All Ghosts," a homage to English dark fantasist William Hope Hodgson (1877-1918). At "normal" short story length, "Richie by the Sea," a horror offering, is worthy of anyone's contemplation and enjoyment. Bear also excels at very short length: witness "Through Road No Whither," a small alternate-history masterpiece, and "The Visitation," which reflects an awareness of religion that might grate on Jerry Falwell. Bear's introductions to the stories are some of the best ever done by an author for his own stuff, especially for what they impart about his literary roots. A mandatory acquisition for sf collections. --Roland Green

Publisher's Weekly Review

Fans will welcome The Collected Stories of Greg Bear, a hefty compendium of shorter fiction from the Hugo and Nebula awards winner. Introductions to each story, an illuminating general introduction and an appendix with Bear's commentary on his work enhance the package. (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

Table of Contents

Introduction: The Blank Spacep. 9
Soon, Nowp. 13
Blood Musicp. 15
Sistersp. 39
A Martian Ricorsop. 67
Schrodinger's Plaguep. 83
The Middle Distancep. 91
Headsp. 93
The Wind from a Burning Womanp. 183
The Vengingp. 211
Perihesperonp. 239
Scattershotp. 251
Plague of Consciencep. 281
Always, Neverp. 307
The White Horse Childp. 309
Dead Runp. 327
Petrap. 351
Websterp. 369
Through Road, No Whitherp. 383
Tangentsp. 389
The Visitationp. 405
Richie by the Seap. 409
Sleepside Storyp. 423
Farawayp. 461
Judgment Enginep. 463
The Fall of the House of Escherp. 495
The Way of All Ghostsp. 525
MDIO Ecosystems Increase Knowledge of DNA Languages (2215 C.E.)p. 583
Hardfoughtp. 587
Appendixp. 647