Cover image for International who's who in classical music 2002.
International who's who in classical music 2002.
Eightteenth edition.
Publication Information:
London : Europa, [2002]

Physical Description:
v, 980 pages ; 29 cm
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
ML105 .I63 2002 Adult Non-Fiction Grosvenor Room-Reference-Music

On Order



This reference is a practical resource of biographical information on classical musicians, composers and conductors and the organizations behind them.

Reviews 1

Choice Review

Issued since 1935 under various titles and by various publishers, this biographical dictionary, now offered by Europa, covers "over 8,000 prominent [living] people in the fields of classical and light classical music, including composers, conductors, instrumentalists, singers, arrangers, writers and managers." The self-written entries average about 20 lines, giving the usual career facts. Appendixes provide world lists by country of "orchestras, opera companies, festivals, music libraries, conservatoires [sic], music organizations, and ... major competitions." Since no other volume is available with this span of information, librarians will want to give it serious consideration, but there are problems. No criteria are stated for inclusion. The star performers are here (as in other books), but important persons of lesser renown may or may not be (e.g., none of the 17 first chairs of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra appear, and only about half of the most active musicologists). The personal and directory entries in less common languages have numerous errors; misspellings and omitted diacritics in Hungarian are especially noticeable. Spot-checking for currency reveals that entries generally are up-to-date, allowing for publication lag time. A few persons and institutions long gone linger, such as conductor Varujan Kojian (d.1993) and Chicago's American Conservatory of Music (closed 1999). A volume of occasional value to be used with caution. ^BSumming Up: Optional. Larger collections. G. A. Marco independent scholar