Cover image for The waiting game
The waiting game
Krentz, Jayne Ann.
Personal Author:
[Large print edition].
Publication Information:
Waterville, ME : Thorndike Press, 2002.

Physical Description:
360 pages ; 23 cm
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X Adult Large Print - Floating collection Floating Collection - Large Print

On Order



Premiering August 8 on The Movie Channel as a major motion picture, "The Waiting Game" is the unbeatable story of two lovers caught in an intriguing and passionate adventure amidst the search for a mysterious cache of gold and the missing man who alone knows its location. The movie will run throughout the month of August and will be prominently featured in future months.

Author Notes

Jayne Ann Krentz was born in Borrego Springs, California on March 28, 1948. She received a B.A. in history from the University of California at Santa Cruz and a master's degree in library science from San Jose State University. Before becoming a full-time author, she worked as a librarian.

She has written under seven different names: Jayne Bentley, Amanda Glass, Stephanie James, Jayne Taylor, Jayne Castle, Amanda Quick and Jayne Ann Krentz. Her first book, Gentle Pirate, was published in 1980 under the name Jayne Castle. She currently uses only three personas to represent her three specialties. She uses the name Jayne Ann Krentz for her contemporary pieces, Amanda Quick for her historical fiction pieces, and Jayne Castle for her futuristic pieces. Her novels include Truth or Dare, All Night Long, Copper Beach, River Road, and Promise not to Tell..

She has received numerous awards for her work including the 1995 Romantic Times Reviewer's Choice Award for Trust Me, the 2004 Romantic Times Reviewer's Choice Award for Falling Awake, the Romantic Times Career Achievement Award, the Romantic Times Jane Austen Award, and the Susan Koppelman Award for Feminist Studies for Dangerous Men and Adventurous Women: Romance Writers on the Appeal of the Romance. In 2015 she made The New York Times Best Seller List with both Trust Me, Trust No One and Secret Sisters..

(Bowker Author Biography) Jayne Ann Krentz is the author of twenty-seven New York Times Bestselling novels. She is also the author of several other bestselling novels written under the name Jayne Castle and Amanda Quick.

(Publisher Provided)

Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Sara doesn't realize that her Uncle Lowell is playing matchmaker for her until she arrives at his cabin in Washington for an unexpected visit and discovers that he's missing. A neighbor informs Sara that Lowell has gone hunting, which Sara knows is a lie since her uncle avoids any kind of blood sport. When Sara turns to Adrian Saville, the man her uncle told Sara to contact if he ever disappears, Sara finds Adrian remarkably sanguine about the whole matter. Adrian then really shocks Sara by informing her that Lowell intends on giving Sara to him as a reward for finishing his first novel. Well, if Adrian thinks she is some literary prize for the taking, Sara has a completely different ending in mind for this new author. Originally published in 1985, The Waiting Game is graced with a cast of delightfully entertaining characters and Krentz's deliciously tart sense of humor.--Charles, John Copyright 2010 Booklist

Library Journal Review

When her eccentric uncle drops out of sight, Sara Frazer contacts Adrian Saville, the enigmatic recluse her uncle had told her to find if anything happened to him. Together, Sara and Adrian are drawn into a lethal game of passion and intrigue in this riveting, well-plotted, sexy classic. First published as a Harlequin Intrigue in 1985, this is still a page-turner. (c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.