Cover image for 20 : the best of the Drue Heinz Literature Prize
20 : the best of the Drue Heinz Literature Prize
Wideman, John Edgar.
Publication Information:
Pittsburgh, Pa. : University of Pittsburgh Press, [2001]

Physical Description:
xiv, 344 pages ; 23 cm
The death of Descartes / David Bosworth -- Thief / Robley Wilson -- Frankenstein meets the ant people / Jonathan Penner-- The luckiest man in the world / Randall Silvis -- The man who loved Levittown / W.D. Wetherell -- Weeds / Rick DeMarinis -- At St. Theresa's College for Women / Ellen Hunnicutt -- Uncle Moustapha's eclipse / Reginald McKnight -- Ariadne in Exile / Maya Sonenberg -- Limbo river / Rick Hillis -- Have you seen me? / Elizabeth Graver -- Director of the world / Jane McCafferty -- Winter haven / Stewart O'Nan -- Rise / Jennifer Cornell -- Dangerous men / Geoffrey Becker -- Vaquita / Edith Pearlman -- Fado / Katherine Faz -- The woman in the headlights / Barbara Croft -- After / Lucy Honig -- Waiting for Giotto / Adria Bernardi.
Added Author:
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
PS648.S5 B47 2001 Adult Non-Fiction Central Closed Stacks

On Order



The Drue Heinz Literature Prize was established in 1980 to encourage and support the writing and reading of short fiction. Over the past twenty years judges such as Robert Penn Warren, Raymond Carver, Joyce Carol Oates, Margaret Atwood, Russell Banks, Alice McDermott, and Frank Conroy have selected the best collections from the hundreds submitted annually by up-and-coming writers. 20 represents the best of the best-one story from each of the prize-winning volumes. Chosen by acclaimed author John Edgar Wideman, the selections cover a broad range of inventive and original characters, settings, and emotions, charting the evolution of the short story over the past two decades. One of the most prestigious awards of its kind, the Drue Heinz Literature Prize has helped launch the careers of a score of previously undiscovered writers, many of whom have gone on to great critical success. Past Winners of the Drue Heinz Literature Prize: David Bosworth, Robley Wilson, Jonathan Penner, Randall Silvis, W. D. Wetherell, Rick DeMarinis, Ellen Hunnicutt, Reginald McKnight, Maya Sonenberg, Rick Hillis, Elizabeth Graver, Jane McCafferty, Stewart O'Nan, Jennifer Cornell, Geoffrey Becker, Edith Pear

Author Notes

John Edgar Wideman grew up in the Homewood section of Pittsburgh, the setting for several of his novels and stories

Reviews 1

Choice Review

The judges of the Drue Heinz Literature Prize during the last 20 years include Robert Penn Warren, Raymond Carver, Joyce Carol Oates, Tobias Wolff, and, in 2000, Frank Conroy. The winners of the award since 1981 include David Bosworth, Rick DeMarinis, Barbara Croft, Lucy Honig, and, in 2000, Adria Bernardi. Wideman, the 1992 judge and editor of the present volume, notes in his introduction that these short stories have changed his mind about the short-story form; indeed, they may change readers' minds, as the book unfolds in the fluidity of the genre in its multifaceted representations. Rodney Wilson takes fewer than four pages to assault the reader in "Thief" (1982). In W.D. Weatherly's "The Man Who Loved Levittown" (1985), the reader is turned inside out along with the protagonist. The major appeal of this book is that the selections are so varied and so wide-ranging in content, structure, and theme. Recommended for all short story collections with the words from Katherine Vaz's 1997 story "Fado": "Hold it for as long as you can, and ask for its blessing." S. W. Whyte Montgomery County Community College

Table of Contents

John Edgar WidemanDavid BosworthRobley WilsonJonathan PennerRandall SilvisW. D. WetherellRick DeMarinisEllen HunnicuttReginald McKnightMaya SonenbergRick HillisElizabeth GraverJane McCaffertyStewart O'NanJennifer CornellGeoffrey BeckerEdith PearlmanKatherine VazBarbara CroftLucy HonigAdria Bernardi
Introductionp. ix
1981 The Death of Descartes (from The Death of Descartes, selected by Robert Penn Warren)p. 1
1982 Thief (from Dancing for Men, selected by Raymond Carver)p. 61
1983 Frankenstein Meets the Ant People (from Private Parties, selected by Wright Morris)p. 65
1984 The Luckiest Man in the World (from The Luckiest Man in the World, selected by Joyce Carol Oates)p. 75
1985 The Man Who Loved Levittown (from The Man Who Loved Levittown, selected by Max Apple)p. 126
1986 Weeds (from Under the Wheat, selected by Alison Lurie)p. 143
1987 At St. Theresa's College for Women (from In the Music Library, selected by Nadine Gordimer)p. 156
1988 Uncle Moustapha's Eclipse (from Moustapha's Eclipse, selected by Margaret Atwood)p. 169
1989 Ariadne in Exile (from Cartographies, selected by Robert Coover)p. 178
1990 Limbo River (from Limbo River, selected by Russell Banks)p. 194
1991 Have You Seen Me? (from Have You Seen Me?, selected by Richard Ford)p. 210
1992 Director of the World (from Director of the World, selected by John Edgar Wideman)p. 226
1993 Winter Haven (from In the Walled City, selected by Tobias Wolff)p. 234
1994 Rise (from Departures, selected by Alice McDermott)p. 241
1995 Dangerous Men (from Dangerous Men, selected by Charles Baxter)p. 251
1996 Vaquita (from Vaquita, selected by Rosellen Brown)p. 264
1997 Fado (from Fado, selected by George Garrett)p. 275
1998 The Woman in the Headlights (from Necessary Fictions, selected by Bharati Mukherjee)p. 289
1999 After (from The Truly Needy and Other Stories, selected by Charles Johnson)p. 301
2000 Waiting for Giotto (from In the Gathering Woods, selected by Frank Conroy)p. 316
Authors' Biographiesp. 341