Cover image for Flesh and blood, dark desires : erotic tales of crime and passion
Title:
Flesh and blood, dark desires : erotic tales of crime and passion
Author:
Collins, Max Allan.
Publication Information:
New York : Mysterious Press, [2002]

©2002
Physical Description:
x, 365 pages ; 21 cm
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780446678582
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library PS648.D4 F58 2002 Adult Non-Fiction Non-Fiction Area
Searching...
Central Library PS648.D4 F58 2002 Adult Non-Fiction Non-Fiction Area
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Sex and suspense combine in the second installment in a hot new series by the masters of mystery.A collection of crime short stories written by the leading names in the mystery field, FLESH & BLOOD: DARK DESIRES combines the allure of crime with the fascination of the erotic. Continuing in the tradition of Flesh & Blood, this second anthology in the series brings together such top-notch mystery lumin- aries as Mickey Spillane, Paul Bishop, Catherine Dain, Michael Collins, Alan Ormsby and many others. Together, these purveyors of crime and punishment weave tales certain to excite, captivate, titillateand most of allset the readers heart racing!


Author Notes

Max Allen Collins was born in 1948 in Muscatine, Iowa. He is a two-time winner of the Private Eye Writer's of America's Shamus Award for his Nathaniel Heller historical thrillers "True Detective" and "Stolen Away". Collins also wrote the Dick Tracy comic strip begining in 1977 and ending in the early 1990s. He has contributed to a number of other comics, including Batman. Collins created his first independent feature film, Mommy, following a nightmarish experience as screenwriter on the cable movie The Expert.

Collins has been contracted by DC Comics to write three tie-ins to his critically acclaimed graphic novel "The Road to Perdition", which was adapted into the feature film. Author of other such move tie-in bestsellers as "In the Line of Fire" and "Air Force One", he is also the screenwriter/director of the cult favorite suspense films "Mommie" and "Mommie's Day".

(Publisher Provided) Max Allen Collins was born in Muscatine, Iowa on March 3, 1948.

His graphic novel Road to Perdition, published in 1998, is the basis of the Academy Award-winning 2002 film starring Tom Hanks, Paul Newman and Daniel Craig. His other works include Road to Purgatory, Road to Paradise, Return to Perdition, Bye Bye, Baby, and Target Lancer. He won the Shamus awards for True Detective in 1983 and Stolen Away in 1991. He is completing a number of Mike Hammer novels begun by the late Mickey Spillane. He has collaborated with his wife Barbara Collins on three novels and numerous short stories. Their Antiques Flee Market won the Romantic Times Best Humorous Mystery Novel award in 2009.

His comics credits include the syndicated strip Dick Tracy (1977-1993), Ms. Tree, Batman; and CSI: Crime Scene Investigation, based on the hit TV series for which he has also written ten novels. He has written tie-in books for several movies including Saving Private Ryan, Air Force One, and American Gangster, which won the Best Novel Scribe Award in 2008 from the International Association of Tie-in Writers.

His non-fiction works include The History of Mystery and Men's Adventure Magazines, which won Anthony Award. He is also an independent filmmaker. He has written and directed five features and two documentaries, including the Lifetime movie Mommy and the sequel, Mommy's Day.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 1

Publisher's Weekly Review

The good news is that the first, relatively weak anthology in this series sold well enough to call for a follow-up, but the bad news is that, apparently, if you have sex, you'll immediately murder somebody. Following the format established in Flesh and Blood (2001), the editors again present one "classic" reprint plus 17 new stories intended to answer a question posed in the introduction: "But what is noir these days?" In the hands of O'Neil de Noux in "Death on Denial" and Bill Crider in "Top of the World," noir seems as atmospheric and doomful as ever. John Lutz, Bill Pronzini, Stephen Mertz, Jon L. Breen, Catherine Dain and Jeremiah Healy do respectable genre duty, if by no means living up to the sexual promise of the whip-wielding dominatrix whose leather-clad leg dominates the cover. Other stories have hotter sex hampered by major narrative disconnects, which might pass as surprise plot developments if they made any sense at all. Mickey Spillane's fast-paced 1973 reprint, "The Gold Fever Tapes," concerns a murdered pal and stolen gold while the sex is merely ornamental. Readers who comprehend Spillane when he writes, "Time was always on the side of the killer when these things happened. You can't just let them drop when you trip over them no matter what the score is," will have no trouble understanding the other tales. Those who avoid prurient material as a rule can pick this one up without shame. (May 1) Forecast: A similar horror series cofounded by Gelb, Hot Blood, has run to several volumes. This series promises to do the same as long as the editors continue to draw big names to contribute. (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


Table of Contents

John LutzBill PronziniMary Kay Lane and Wendi LeeRichard S. MeyersMax Allan Collins and Matthew V. ClemensPaul BishopMarthayn PelegrimasAlan OrmsbyMickey SpillaneJeff GelbO'Neil De NouxStephen MertzJon L. BreenMartin MeyersCatherine DainBill CriderJeremiah HealyMichael Collins
Introductionp. ix
Lily and Menp. 1
Just Lookingp. 21
Desire in the First Degreep. 35
Hard Rp. 57
My Lolita Complexp. 77
Mercyp. 99
A Pair of Queensp. 117
Road Signsp. 133
The Gold Fever Tapesp. 153
Researchp. 191
Heath on Denialp. 201
Talon's Giftp. 215
Bullet Eyesp. 227
Pickupp. 249
Many Happy Returnsp. 281
Top of the Worldp. 299
Just Kryptonitep. 317
Twilight's Last Gleamingp. 339
Contributorsp. 359

Google Preview