Cover image for The lady of the sorrows
The lady of the sorrows
Dart-Thornton, Cecilia.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Warner Books, [2002]

Physical Description:
xi, 461 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X Adult Fiction Popular Materials-Science Fiction/Fantasy

On Order



"Though her memory remains clouded by sorcery, Imrhien must take vital news directly to the King-Emperor of Caermelor. She hopes that there she may also find Thorn, the fearless ranger who has won her heart." "Since no commoner may approach the royal court, Imrhien must assume a new identity as Rohain, a noble visitor from the distant Sorrow Isles. Her disguise helps her discover that the King and his rangers have departed to battle the Unseelie hordes that have suddenly declared war against mortals. While she awaits the King's return, Rohain is trapped in her masquerade, facing a court where treachery and deceit are as deadly as any eldritch peril." "Changes of fate occur, and for a brief while it seems Rohain's dream of happiness may be achieved. Yet her joy is short-lived. For attacks by nightmare monsters of the Wild Hunt, led by the Unseelie Lord Huon, grow ever more frequent and brutal. And when evil forces lay siege to the royal sanctuary on a hidden mystic island, Rohain must accept a horrifying fact: She is the real target of the monstrous attacks; she is the one whom Huon hunts. And she has no idea why." "To protect those she loves, the Lady of the Sorrows must undertake a desperate quest to discover who she is and why an unhuman evil would destroy a world to find her. But the truth of Rohain's past will prove more incredible - and far more tragic - than any she could possibly have imagined."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Author Notes

Cecilia Dart-Thornton lives in Australia.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 2

Publisher's Weekly Review

In this second book of the Bitterbynde trilogy (after 2001's The Ill-Made Mute), Dart-Thornton clarifies a number of the first volume's mysteries and with a defter hand sets the story moving briskly through the medieval-like landscape of Erith. Imrhien has been cured of her muteness and her facial disfigurement, but she hasn't yet overcome the amnesia that also plagued her in book one. Deciding she must tell the King-Emperor of Erith about the treasure she has found, Imrhien makes her way to court and by sheer good luck though her restored beauty is also a big help catches the ear of a faithful minister of the king who believes her story about hidden riches. After a period of indulging in court life, Imrhien feels the pull to once again travel and try to discover why she can't remember her past. A series of adventures leads to revelations about part of Imrhien's past and yet these same revelations also point to more paradoxes, setting the stage for the final volume. Often second books in fantasy trilogies just trudge along. In this case, the author has peppered the plot with folklore and tall tales that lend plenty of interest, even if they have little to do with the immediate quest. Hopefully, Dart-Thornton will pattern the concluding volume in the series on the second and not the first. While the jacket art depicting courtiers against a castle backdrop will help to draw historical romance readers, it gives no hint that the novel is full of mythical creatures and fair folk sure to appeal to fantasy fans. (Apr. 24) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved

Library Journal Review

Healed of her scars and given back her voice, the former mute known as Imrhien now carries an important message to the King-Emperor of Caermelor. Disguised as a noble to gain admission to court society, Imrhien finds that the emperor has embarked on a war against a hostile army of unseelie creatures (malevolent fairies) bent on the destruction of humankind. Her eventual meeting with the emperor proves both surprising and bittersweet, for as she finds her heart's desire, Imrhien also discovers that she is the target of the unseelie hordes. The sequel to The Ill-Made Mute continues the adventures of a resourceful heroine as she makes her way through a world filled with magic and treachery. Dart-Thornton flavors her saga with retellings of traditional folktales and legends. For most fantasy collections. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Table of Contents

Synopsisp. ix
1 White Down Rory: Mask and Mirrorp. 1
2 Caermelor, Part I: Vogue and Vanityp. 24
3 Caermelor, Part II: Story and Sentencep. 77
4 The Tower: Hunt and Heart's Desirep. 150
5 Caermelor, Part III: Fire and Fleetp. 215
6 The Island: Green Hair, Dark Seap. 248
7 The Cauldron: Thyme and Tidep. 313
8 Avlantia: Quest and Questionsp. 339
9 The Langothe: The Longing for Leaving; the Leaving of Longingp. 379
10 Downfallp. 416