Cover image for What she doesn't know
Title:
What she doesn't know
Author:
Barton, Beverly.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Kensington Pub. Corp., 2002.
Physical Description:
383 pages ; 18 cm.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780821772140
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library X Adult Mass Market Paperback Central Library
Searching...
Central Library X Adult Mass Market Paperback Central Closed Stacks
Searching...
Newstead Library X Adult Mass Market Paperback Open Shelf
Searching...
East Delavan Branch Library X Adult Mass Market Paperback Open Shelf
Searching...
Anna M. Reinstein Library X Adult Mass Market Paperback Open Shelf
Searching...
Julia Boyer Reinstein Library X Adult Mass Market Paperback Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

It's been 20 years since Jolie Royale witnessed the brutal crime that left her mother, her aunt, and her aunt's lover dead, and Jolie critically wounded. Ruled a murder-suicide, the case was closed, although rumors of the murderer's true identity abounded. Now, Jolie is coming home with mixed feelings about her father's funeral. Those feelings turn to dread when the case is reopened--and it becomes clear the killer is still on the loose.


Author Notes

Beverly Barton was born in Alabama in 1946. She attended the University of North Alabama, but left to marry her husband, who was in the military. Before becoming a romance novelist, she was a stay-at-home mom. Her first romance novel, Yankee Lover, was published in 1990. She wrote more than 70 books during her lifetime including The Protectors series and the Dead By trilogy. She won several awards including the Romance Writers of America's Maggie Award, the RWA's National Reader's Choice Award, and the Romantic Times Career Achievement Award. She died of heart failure on April 21, 2011 at the age of 64.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

At age 14, Jolie Royale was the sole survivor of a shooting that left her mother, aunt, and aunt's alleged lover dead. Now, 20 years later, recovered from her physical wounds if not the psychological ones, she returns to Belle Rose Plantation for her father's funeral. Not remembering who shot her, Jolie is suspicious of everyone, especially her stepbrother, Max Deveraux. When a lawyer friend reopens the case, the murderer becomes worried that Jolie's memory will return, so Jolie finds herself in danger once again. Max, against Jolie's wishes, sets himself up as her protector. The reader won't be able to put down this dark romantic suspense set in the underbelly of the deep South. Fans of authors such as Lisa Jackson, Janelle Taylor, and Heather Graham will enjoy the shivers Barton, a popular author who has also penned 29 Silhouette romances, and who lives in Tuscumbia, Alabama, so deftly delivers. --Shelley Mosley


Publisher's Weekly Review

Two mysteries and multiple romances dovetail nicely in this tightly woven romantic intrigue from popular Silhouette series author Barton (Every Move She Makes). When her father dies, Jolie Royale is summoned to Belle Rose, her family's estate in Mississippi, by her brother-in-law, Max Deveraux. Jolie hasn't been home in 23 years, not since she was shot and left for dead in what would later become known as the Belle Rose Massacre. Her mother and aunt were murdered that night, ostensibly by the family handyman, Lemar, who later committed suicide. Although some doubted Lemar's guilt, Jolie included, the county sheriff didn't hesitate to lay the blame on the dead man's shoulders and close the case. Upon her return, Jolie regains control of Belle Rose and joins forces with Theron Carter, Lemar's nephew, to reopen the case and air long-buried family secrets. But when Theron is assaulted and Jolie is shot at, Max designates himself as her personal bodyguard and aids her in untangling the Belle Rose mystery. Revelation upon revelation will hold the reader's interest, and the fast and furious sex scenes between Jolie and Max should please Barton's many fans. With its sultry Southern setting and well-drawn characters, this richly textured tale ranks among the best the genre has to offer. (Apr.) Forecast: For the past decade, Barton has paid her dues writing category romances, but her recent pairing with Linda Howard (Mackenzie's Pleasure/Defending His Own) has enhanced her profile as well as her fan base, which should translate into respectable sales for this book. A provocative title and an eye-catching cover will make it stand out from the pack, and a Romantic Times giveaway featuring 250 advance copies should help generate early buzz. (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


Google Preview