Cover image for The eagle has landed : a novel
The eagle has landed : a novel
Higgins, Jack, 1929-
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Simon & Schuster, [1982]

Physical Description:
399 pages ; 25 cm
General Note:
"Originally published in Great Britain by William Collins Sons and Co., Ltd."--T.p verso.

"This edition published 1976 by Pan Books"--T.p. verso.

Rev. ed. containing text that had been deleted from the original ms.
Geographic Term:
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X Adult Fiction Central Library

On Order



Re-released on its 25th anniversary, this classic novel is widely considered to be Higgins' greatest work. Threatened on all sides, a desperate Adolph Hitler orders that Winston Churchill be kidnapped or killed. Meanwhile, a beautiful widow and IRA assassin have laid the groundwork for the most treacherous plot of the war, beginning when Berlin receives the message, "The eagle has landed".

Author Notes

Jack Higgins is a writer and educator, born in Newcastle, England on July 17, 1929. The name is the pseudonym of Harry Patterson. He also wrote under the names of Martin Fallon, James Graham, and Hugh Marlowe during his early writing career. He attended Leeds Training College and eventually graduated from the University of London in 1962 with a B.S. degree in Sociology.

Higgins held a series of jobs, including a stint as a non-commissioned officer in the Royal House of Guards serving on the German border during the Cold War. He taught at Leeds College of Commerce and James Graham College. He has written more than 60 books including The Eagle Has Landed, Touch the Devil, Confessional, The Eagle Has Flown, and Eye of the Storm. Higgins is also the author of the Sean Dillon series. His novels have since sold over 250 million copies and been translated into fifty-five languages.

His title's The Death Trade and Rain on the Dead made The New York Times Best Seller List.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 1

Booklist Review

A special force of German paratroopers lands on the Norfolk coast to await the arrival of Winston Churchill, the man they plan to kidnap.