Cover image for The New Grove Stravinsky
The New Grove Stravinsky
Walsh, Stephen, 1942-
Publication Information:
New York : Grove, [2002]

Physical Description:
85 pages 8 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations ; 24 cm.
Personal Subject:
Added Author:

Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
ML410.S932 N48 2002 Adult Non-Fiction Non-Fiction Area

On Order



This 20th-century Russian composer, later of French and American nationality, led a varied life which was mirrored by often startling changes in his musical style over the course of his life. His early years found him in Russia, where Rimsky, Korsakov, and Tchaikovsky were great influences. His international career soon exploded with the premieres of the Firebird, Petrushka, and the Rite of Spring. The period from 1920-1939, which he spent in France, was that of the great neo-classical compositions, this stylistic inclination eventually gave way to a highly individual use of serial techniques in his last years, when he took up residence in the US.The New Grove Stravinskymaps the composer's life and works in the finest of detail, bringing this great man and his music to life.About The New Grove II Composer Biography Series:These new, fully re-written editions of some of the most popular titles in the New Grove composer biography series last published in the 1980s build on the enormous success of those books, offering fresh new insights drawn from the most recent scholarship. Focusing on some of the greatest and most influential composers of the last few centuries of the millennium, these titles are derived from the second edition of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Most excitingly, as they will be published before the dictionary, they offer sneak previews of some of the best, most up-to-date entries in this landmark, end-of-the-century edition of the most authoritative, comprehensive, and widely respected music encyclopedia in the world. In addition to the re-written editions of The New Grove Wagner, The New Grove Haydn,and The New Grove Mozart comes for the first time The New Grove Stravinsky, the first in a series of New Grove composer biographies that will cover the great masters of the 20th century, never before published as individual volumes. This series is edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell. Both men live in the United Kingdom and have edited The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Second Edition.

Reviews 1

Library Journal Review

In the early 1980s, Grove issued a "Composer Biography" series, with material taken from the first edition of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Likewise, these slim volumes are spin-offs of the second edition (LJ 3/15/01); consequently, the same new scholarship, fresh perspectives, and updated bibliographies that mark the NGII mark these books the first releases in the new series. For the first time, Stravinsky gets a title of his own. To some extent, the updates have been edited to appeal to a lay audience. For example, in the NGII article on Haydn, there is a section titled "Style, Aesthetics, and Compositional Method," which in the biography is reworded "Style and Method." In the NGII's coverage of Stravinsky, the dictionary section is titled "Posthumous Reputation and Legacy," but here it appears as "Then and Since." However, the texts themselves have not been dumbed down. Each book contains a works list, a bibliography, an index, and 12 pages of black-and-white illustrations (not seen); at press time, the publisher could not confirm whether the illustrations will be the same ones used in the NGII. As with the earlier editions, the work lists include page numbers where pieces are discussed in the text. Excellent for students and scholars, these manageable biographies are recommended for libraries where the earlier editions circulated well. Bonnie Jo Dopp, Univ. of Maryland Libs., College Park (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Table of Contents

List of illustrations
1. Background and Early Years, 1882-1905p. 1
2. Towards 'The Firebird', 1902-9p. 3
3. The Early Diaghilev Ballets, 1910-14p. 9
4. Exile in Switzerland, 1914-20p. 14
5. France: the Beginnings of Neo-classicism, 1920-25p. 19
6. Return to the Theatre, 1925-34p. 23
7. Last Years in France: towards America, 1934-9p. 32
8. USA: the Late Neo-classical Works, 1939-51p. 34
9. The Proto-serial Works, 1951-9p. 39
10. Final Years, 1959-71p. 44
11. Then and Sincep. 49
Work-listp. 51
Writingsp. 61
Bibliographyp. 63
Indexp. 81