Cover image for Camilla : her true story
Camilla : her true story
Graham, Caroline, 1966-
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
London : Blake, [2001]

Physical Description:
xxi, 346 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
DA591.A45 P37 2001 Adult Non-Fiction Central Closed Stacks

On Order



Few individuals have had as profound an effect upon the British monarchy as Camilla Parker Bowles. The mere mention of her name elicits strong opinions. To some, she is a person of immense honor and dignity, a loyal consort who has risen above the jibes and accusations that have been directed at her. To others, she is a destroyer, whose position as the third member of a royal marriage led to the break-up of Charles and Diana, and to the tragic events that followed. The truth, as this book reveals, lies somewhere in between. Charles and Camilla have so far remained silent, keeping the details of their abiding relationship a secret. Caroline Graham, who has spoken to sources close to the couple, here reveals a story of grand passion, cynical betrayal, and sexual subterfuge. Caroline Graham is highly regarded as a royal commentator. Now living in America, she is the U.S. correspondent for the Mail on Sunday.

Author Notes

Caroline Graham (born on July 17, 1931 in Nuneaton) is an English playwright, screenwriter and novelist. She attended the Open University, and received a degree in writing for the theatre from the University of Birmingham.

Her first published book was Fire Dance, a romance novel. She is best-known as the writer of the Chief Inspector Barnaby series, which was made into a series for television in the UK known as Midsomer Murders. The first Inspector Barnaby novel, The Killings at Badger's Drift, was published in 1988 and named as one of The Top 100 Crime Novels of All Time. Since then she has written six more, with latest novel A Ghost in the Machine published in 2004.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Table of Contents

Stuart Higgins
Forewordp. vii
Introductionp. xix
1 First Lovep. 1
2 The Prince is Smittenp. 17
3 A Dream Weddingp. 31
4 Shy Dip. 49
5 Happiness Lostp. 71
6 The Spectre of Camillap. 81
7 Falling Apartp. 99
8 Diana Fights Backp. 119
9 The Devil and the Deep Blue Seap. 135
10 Telephone Sexp. 145
11 Over at Lastp. 169
12 The Scandalp. 173
13 Bending with the Windp. 189
14 Duty Before Lovep. 201
15 Rebuildingp. 207
16 A Royal Confessionp. 221
17 A Princess Adriftp. 243
18 Ending the Liep. 265
19 Nights of Sex and Winep. 273
20 Diana's Revengep. 285
21 The Transitionp. 289
22 The End of the Affairp. 299
23 Operation PBp. 307
24 'Queen' Camillap. 323
25 The Future Sealed with a Kissp. 339