Cover image for Going to war in the 19th century
Title:
Going to war in the 19th century
Author:
Dodd, Craig.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
Danbury, CT : Franklin Watts, 2001.
Physical Description:
32 pages : illustrations (chiefly color), color map. ; 27 cm.
Summary:
Surveys fighting forces and battles of the second half of the nineteenth century, including the Civil War, the Crimean War, and the Indian Mutiny, covering such topics as recruiting, uniforms, transport, cavalry, war at sea, and more.
General Note:
Includes index.
Language:
English
Reading Level:
IG 990 Lexile.
Program Information:
Reading Counts RC 3-5 5.7 3 Quiz: 32204 Guided reading level: T.
ISBN:
9780531145944
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
U41 .D63 2001 Juvenile Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
U41 .D63 2001 Juvenile Non-Fiction Childrens Area
Searching...
Searching...
U41 .D63 2001 Juvenile Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
U41 .D63 2001 Juvenile Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
U41 .D63 2001 Juvenile Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
U41 .D63 2001 Juvenile Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

This series meets National Curriculum Standards for: Science: History and Nature of Science, Science and Technology Social Studies: Time, Continuity, & Change


Reviews 1

School Library Journal Review

Gr 4-7-These informative British imports have a good balance of well-written text and clear, colorful detailed drawings. The 18th Century covers the armies and navies of the American Revolution and major European wars. The 19th Century presents the fighting forces of the Crimean War, the U.S. Civil War, and the Indian Mutiny. The authors' balanced accounts point out the tedium and difficulty as well as the excitement of military life. Topics include recruiting, infantry, uniforms, artillery, cavalry, tactics, camp life, and medicine. These books will appeal to fans of Michelle Byam's Arms and Armor (DK, 2000), Richard Holmes's Battle (2000, both DK), and Andrew Robertshaw's A Soldier's Life (Lodestar, 1997).-Eunice Weech, M. L. King Elementary School, Urbana, IL (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.