Cover image for Going to war in the 18th century
Title:
Going to war in the 18th century
Author:
Cooper, Paul.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First American edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Franklin Watts, [2001]

©2001
Physical Description:
32 pages : color illustrations ; 28 cm.
Summary:
Surveys the armed forces and wars of the eighteenth century, including the American Revolution.
General Note:
Includes index.
Language:
English
Reading Level:
IG 1020 Lexile.
Program Information:
Reading Counts RC 3-5 5.8 3 Quiz: 32206 Guided reading level: T.
Added Author:
ISBN:
9780531145937
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
D295 .C66 2001 Juvenile Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
D295 .C66 2001 Juvenile Non-Fiction Central Closed Stacks
Searching...
Searching...
D295 .C66 2001 Juvenile Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
D295 .C66 2001 Juvenile Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
D295 .C66 2001 Juvenile Non-Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Surveys the armed forces and wars of the eighteenth century, including the American Revolution.


Reviews 1

School Library Journal Review

Gr 4-7-These informative British imports have a good balance of well-written text and clear, colorful detailed drawings. The 18th Century covers the armies and navies of the American Revolution and major European wars. The 19th Century presents the fighting forces of the Crimean War, the U.S. Civil War, and the Indian Mutiny. The authors' balanced accounts point out the tedium and difficulty as well as the excitement of military life. Topics include recruiting, infantry, uniforms, artillery, cavalry, tactics, camp life, and medicine. These books will appeal to fans of Michelle Byam's Arms and Armor (DK, 2000), Richard Holmes's Battle (2000, both DK), and Andrew Robertshaw's A Soldier's Life (Lodestar, 1997).-Eunice Weech, M. L. King Elementary School, Urbana, IL (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.