Cover image for The Iowa Award : the best stories, 1991-2000
The Iowa Award : the best stories, 1991-2000
Conroy, Frank, 1936-2005.
Publication Information:
Iowa City : University of Iowa Press, [2001]

Physical Description:
viii, 306 pages ; 23 cm
Introduction / Frnak Conroy -- Hints of his mortality / David Borofka -- José del Río / Mark Brazaitis -- World with my mother still in it / Kathryn Chetkovich -- Oceanic Hotel, Nice / Tereze Glück -- Nothing / Ann Harleman -- Coming into Rio Harbor / Elizabeth Harris -- Gladys knows / Jim Henry -- Stealing trees / Lisa Lenzo -- Where love leaves us / Renée Manfredi -- Ambulance / Susan Onthank Mates -- End of romance / John McNally -- Igloo among palms / Rod Val Moore -- Out of the girls' room and into the night / Thisbe Nissen -- Free writing / Sondra Spatt Olsen -- Oracle / Elizabeth Oness -- House fires / Nancy Reisman -- What to do in an emergency / Elizabeth Searle -- Disappeared / Enid Shomer -- Discussion of property / Lex Williford -- Listening to Mozart / Charles Wyatt -- Thomas Edison by moonlight / Don Zancanella.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
PS648.S5 I58 2001 Adult Non-Fiction Non-Fiction Area

On Order



According to the New York Times Book Review, the Iowa Short Fiction Award is among the most prestigious literary prizes America offers, and the Chicago Tribune has called the honor a respected prize that annually introduces readers to a writer whose work is little known outside the circle of literary magazine and university publications. In 1991, to both celebrate the stories discovered by the Iowa Short Fiction Award and its companion, the John Simmons Short Fiction Award, and to further acquaint readers with the prize-winning authors, Frank Conroy compiled The Iowa Award: The Best Stories from Twenty Years. He follows that now with The Iowa Award: The Best Stories, 1991-2000, a collection of twenty-one winning selections. Whether hurtling toward Earth in a disabled airplane, sharing silence with a prostitute, fantasizing about the Manson family, or hiding disgust for a dying friend, the characters in this new collection engage and captivate readers. The authors - from 1991 winners Elizabeth Harris and Sondra Spatt Olsen to newcomers John McNally and Elizabeth Oness - explore the nuances of love, lust, youth, old age, illness, nostalgia, obsession, idiosyncrasy, and surprise. Th

Reviews 1

Publisher's Weekly Review

In the introduction to these 21 stories, Conroy, head of the Iowa Writers Workshop, states that the collection is "proof that serious writers exist, that they work to very high standards... and contribute to the forward movement of American literary high culture." This aptly attests to the ambitions of the writers, each the winner of a Writer's Workshop writing award, but perhaps also suggests an academic dryness; the aura of apprenticeship hovers over some of these tales. Still, there are a number of standouts. One of the most powerful, "The Oracle," by Elizabeth Oness, deals with a young college graduate manipulated into an affair by the teenaged daughter of the man his widowed mother plans to marry. He discovers too late that the girl's motivation is revenge. In "Hints of His Mortality," David Borofka tells of a man trapped in a disabled 727 that may soon crash. So traumatized is he by the vision of a highly imperfect life flashing before his eyes that when he survives, he is crushed by the realization that there is "no real cause for celebration." "Gladys Knows," by Jim Henry, is the harrowing tale of a teenaged girl struggling unsuccessfully to cope with the senseless murder of her father. Most of the contributors have yet to make a name for themselves in the larger literary arena, but the stories collected here prove their promise. (Sept.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved