Cover image for Every move she makes
Title:
Every move she makes
Author:
Barton, Beverly.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York, NY : Kensington Pub., [2001]

©2001
Physical Description:
384 pages ; 18 cm.
Language:
English
Geographic Term:
ISBN:
9780821768389
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
X Adult Mass Market Paperback Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
X Adult Mass Market Paperback Central Closed Stacks
Searching...
Searching...
X Adult Mass Market Paperback Central Library
Searching...
Searching...
X Adult Mass Market Paperback Open Shelf
Searching...
Searching...
X Adult Mass Market Paperback Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Sleepy Southern Days

As the pampered daughter of one of Spring Creek's most prestigious southern families, Ella Porter has lived her entire life on the straight-and-narrow. And being "good" has kept Ella safe and sane--until now. Suggestive yet ominous letters have been arriving at her office with alarming frequency. Letters that remind her of the disturbing ones she used to get from Reed Conway--the hellraiser she knew from childhood--after her father prosecuted him for murder. Now Reed's been released from prison, and though Ella finds herself wanting to believe his claims of innocence, she's getting closer than a "good girl" ever should to a man with such a bad reputation. . .

Dangerous Southern Nights

Reed Conway is on a mission: to find out who really murdered his stepfather and put his past behind him. But someone wants to interfere--someone determined to send Reed right back to prison for a brand-new crime. They've made it look like he's still a threat to Ella Porter and her family, when the truth is, the more he sees Ella, the more desperately he wants her. But his attempts to prove his innocence have put both their lives in jeopardy. . .because whoever is stalking Ella will stop at nothing--including murder. . .


Author Notes

Beverly Barton was born in Alabama in 1946. She attended the University of North Alabama, but left to marry her husband, who was in the military. Before becoming a romance novelist, she was a stay-at-home mom. Her first romance novel, Yankee Lover, was published in 1990. She wrote more than 70 books during her lifetime including The Protectors series and the Dead By trilogy. She won several awards including the Romance Writers of America's Maggie Award, the RWA's National Reader's Choice Award, and the Romantic Times Career Achievement Award. She died of heart failure on April 21, 2011 at the age of 64.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Readers who like "hot and nasty" romantic suspense will relish Barton's contemporary and sexually explicit Southern gothic. For a judge, Ella Porter, the adopted daughter of a wealthy senator and his invalid wife, is pretty naive. She believes her parents' lies about their happy marriage and at 30 is still living at home, waiting for undying love like theirs, until good-looking bad boy Reed Conway is released from prison after serving 15 years for the murder of his violently abusive stepfather. Reed is obsessed with finding out who framed him for killing the man who had made his family's life hell; meanwhile the real murderer, intent on sending Reed back to jail, starts a campaign of terror against Ella, making it look like Reed is at fault. When she confronts him, they discover that the unvoiced attraction they had for each other as teenagers has not abated. They also realize that they have to find the real killer, and events escalate steadily toward an exciting climax. --Diana Tixier Herald


Publisher's Weekly Review

Hot, steamy nights and dark family secrets abound in Barton's (The Protectors, etc.) suspenseful but somewhat convoluted romantic melodrama. When he was 18 years old, handsome bad boy Reed Conway was convicted of a crime he didn't commit killing his abusive stepfather, Junior Blalock. Out on parole after 15 years and back in his hometown of Spring Creek, Ala., Reed is determined to find the real murderer. But it seems everyone had a reason to kill Junior, including Senator Web Porter, the man who prosecuted Reed when he was the county DA. Meanwhile, the murderer, aware of the danger posed by Reed's probing, arranges events that will put the parolee back in the slammer. Complicating matters further is Reed's attraction to Web's daughter, taciturn Ella Porter. Ella is drawn to Reed's raw strength, and together the two overcome their vastly different backgrounds, join forces and try to find the real killer. The narrative's myriad subplots including a romance between Reed's mother and Web, and a sibling rivalry between Ella's aunt and mother may overwhelm the reader, but the novel's sizzling sexual chemistry and high suspense will satisfy sunbathers longing for sultry poolside reading. (Sept.) Forecast: Romances set in the South, especially those with a high sensuality quotient, are in high demand. Barton's latest will appeal to fans of Olga Bicos and Lisa Jackson and will likely garner respectable sales. (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved