Cover image for The two Chinatowns
Title:
The two Chinatowns
Author:
Mahoney, Dan.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : St. Martin's Press, 2001.
Physical Description:
342 pages ; 25 cm
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780312261344
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library X Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks
Searching...
Central Library X Adult Fiction Central Library
Searching...
Grand Island Library X Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

When his girlfriend is murdered, Cisco Sanchez, a talented but volatile NYPD detective, sets out to get revenge. His search takes him into the uncertain territory of Chinese organised crime.


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Cisco Sanchez, who considers himself the best detective in the NYPD, is in Toronto for an interdepartmental boxing tournament. He's smart and tough, but that isn't enough to prevent tragedy when his lover, Sue Hsu, is murdered by members of a street gang as the couple dines in a Chinese restaurant. Sanchez kills the two men directly responsible, but he wants revenge on the gang leader who ordered the hit, to which he and Hsu were innocent bystanders. Despite his personal stake in the case, Sanchez becomes a key member in a joint Toronto^-New York strike force charged with dismantling the two key gangs involved in trafficking illegal aliens. One by one, Sanchez and his crew arrest the street soldiers until eventually they find someone willing to turn on the well-protected superiors. Mahoney, who retired as a captain after 25 years in the NYPD, knows the nuts and bolts of a sweeping multijurisdictional police operation. He is also able to portray complex, believable characters struggling mightily with their own muddled lives. Fans of William Caunitz, Robert Daley, and Ed McBain will savor this top-drawer procedural. --Wes Lukowsky


Publisher's Weekly Review

A complex plot is no deterrent to enjoyment of Mahoney's ambitious thriller, in which a Cuban-American NYPD detective takes on a powerful 300-year-old Chinese crime association, or triad, whose tentacles reach all over the world. On a visit to Toronto, Det. Cisco Sanchez takes his new fianc?e, Sue Hsu, to her uncle's restaurant, where she stumbles into a gang kidnapping of a kitchen worker and is killed. Executing swift justice, Sanchez holds off the local cops. Bailed out by his partner, well-connected series regular Brian McKenna (Black and White) and their boss, Sanchez and his fellow NYPDers join forces with a Chinese investigator in Toronto. They soon discover that the Chinese gang responsible for the killing has been hired by the triad to "collect" big money payments from illegal Chinese aliens smuggled into New York and Toronto. Launching an attack in both cities, their investigation sends out shock waves far and wide as bodies pile up and the husband and wife triad enforcement team known as Boris and Natasha are captured in Toronto. The couple turn informer to protect their family, but the cops don't count on meeting up with Murray Don't Worry a real-life New York City lawyer who almost steals the book. Murray plays the cops like a Stradivarius while matchmaking between his secretary/niece and Sanchez. When the team finally targets Johnny Eng, the dragon head of the triad (and another Murray client) the action really picks up. McKenna takes a back seat in this outing as Sanchez runs the show, with a little help from his friends. Mahoney's characters are always solid, and this tale is almost a primer on Chinese community dynamics. He pulls no punches and speeds to a perfect ending. (July 27) FYI: The author is a 25-year veteran of the NYPD. (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


Google Preview