Cover image for This boat
Title:
This boat
Author:
Collicutt, Paul.
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Farrar, Straus Giroux, 2001.
Physical Description:
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 21 x 28 cm
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780374374952
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
PIC. BK. Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

By the author and illustrator of "This Train," a Parents' Choice Gold Medal Book
Anchors aweigh From a boat in a bottle to a supertanker cargo ship, from a boat that can break through ice to one that can sail under it -- "This Boat, " with its simple text and lush pictures, celebrates all kinds of boats, and ferries the youngest of readers toward a smooth docking. As a bonus, full-color endpapers feature captioned renderings of marine vessels from around the world and through the ages, such as a Viking longboat and the SS Titanic.


Author Notes

Paul Collicutt 's books include This Plane and This Train , which was described by School Library Journal as follows: "This title accomplishes many things: it's a concept book for preschoolers, a beginning reader, and a source of information for primary-grade train fans." Mr. Collicutt lives in Hove, Sussex, England.


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

Ages 4^-8. In this follow-up to the popular This Plane (2000) and This Train (1999), Collicutt's bright depictions of various boats are accompanied by simple text: "This boat is powered by the wind / This boat is powered by steam." From a paddle-powered riverboat to a submarine to an aircraft carrier to a ship stranded in a storm, a number of different boats are presented. As a bonus, the endpapers feature even more boats, including Captain Cook's Endeavor, a modern kayak, a Viking long ship, and the Titanic. The book is excellent for reading aloud, and the dramatic illustrations will carry across a crowd and make for excellent discussion of the boats and their functions. Helen Rosenberg


Publisher's Weekly Review

In the vein of This Plane and This Train, Paul Collicutt explores all things seaworthy in This Boat, with vessels that "break through ice" and "[sail] on top of a bridge." The informative end papers showing specific boats (e.g., the USS John F. Kennedy aircraft carrier, the SS Titanic) are a bonus. ( Mar.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


School Library Journal Review

PreS-Gr 1-Collicutt follows the template of his This Plane (2000) and This Train (1999, both Farrar) to portray all sorts of boats, even one in a bottle. The detailed, realistic, brightly colored paintings create ample interest for revisiting, and the simple text presents formulaic repetition, making it useful for beginning readers. Plenty of sea is covered, and the glimpses will encourage further study of particular boats since readers receive only one fact (and one view) per page. A story that will gratify young sailors and transportation buffs.-Gay Lynn Van Vleck, Henrico County Library, Glen Allen, VA (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.