Cover image for Visionseeker : shared wisdom from the place of refuge
Title:
Visionseeker : shared wisdom from the place of refuge
Author:
Wesselman, Henry Barnard.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
Carlsbad, Calif. : Hay House, 2001.
Physical Description:
xviii, 326 pages ; 24 cm
Language:
English
Personal Subject:
ISBN:
9781561707539
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library BL626 .W47 A3 2001 Adult Non-Fiction Central Closed Stacks
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

In this remarkable work, Dr. Wesselman reveals what it means to be a mystic and a medicine man in an age of high technology and super science. His spiritual quest continues to unfold, illuminating the emergence of a modern Western shamanism, the phenomenon of spirit possession, the conveyance of the souls of the dead, and the true nature of the human spirit.


Reviews 2

Publisher's Weekly Review

Third in a series that began with Spiritwalker and continued with Medicinemaker, this chronicle of Wesselman's experiences as a modern-day shaman with an anthropology Ph.D. will appeal to followers of such New Age leaders as Michael Harner and Sandra Ingerman (who both blurbed the book). Fans of Carlos Casteneda and Dan Millman will also enjoy the novelistic feel of this story, which the author insists contains no fiction whatsoever. Wesselman describes visits with his fellow shaman and possible descendant or future (reincarnated) self, Nainoa, who lives somewhere on the West Coast of North America 5,000 years from now, after the complete demise of the Western world. Through shamanic journeying, the author enters Nainoa's mind, describing nature walks, visions and lessons from Hawaiian kahunas or mystics in detail. Claiming to have "looked into the face of God," to have been joined by Jesus in a shamanic healing practice, and to have been "chosen" to teach spiritual truths, the author sometimes appears more self-important than shamanic. Meanwhile, his habit of entering the spirit world through sexual ecstasy seems an easy target for ridicule. Wesselman's final warnings of environmental catastrophe and his hope for a better outcome through "an evolution of spirit" will be familiar to any reader of New Age literature. Still, Wesselman's delivery is a cut above the rest of the genre vastly superior to, for example, The Celestine Prophecy. Agents, Candice Fuhrman and Linda Michaels. (Apr.) Forecast: The popularity of New Age narratives bodes well for this book; a 10-city-radio satellite tour and ads in Yoga Journal and NAPRA will help catch the attention of die-hard fans of the genre, though others will be immediately turned off by the title. (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


Library Journal Review

Wesselman, an anthropologist who received his doctoral degree from the University of California at Berkeley, has written a third volume in a series of works on his spiritual awakening. Spiritwalker received international acclaim and dealt with the author's initial visionary encounters. His account of his relationship with Nainoa, a fellow mystic and kahuna initiate, were at the heart of Medicinemaker. In Visionseeker, he continues his exploration of shamanism, giving the novice listener an intimate introduction to kahuna wisdom, spirit possession, the conveyance of the souls of the dead, and attempts to define the true nature of the human spirit. Taken as one man's account of his spiritual destiny, this is an interesting audiobook. For public libraries with large anthropology or new age collections. Pam Kingsbury, Florence, AL (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Table of Contents

Introductionp. xi
Chapter 1 The Master Gamep. 1
Chapter 2 First Journey: The Place of Refugep. 15
Chapter 3 Depossessionp. 27
Chapter 4 Second Journey: The Nature of the Selfp. 47
Chapter 5 Psychopompp. 61
Chapter 6 Third Journey: The Gardenp. 77
Chapter 7 The Place of Powerp. 89
Chapter 8 Fourth Journey: The Spirit in the Forestp. 107
Chapter 9 Gandulip. 123
Chapter 10 Fifth Journey: The Nature of Realityp. 135
Chapter 11 The Human Spiritp. 147
Chapter 12 Sixth Journey: The Giftp. 165
Chapter 13 The Gateway to Transcendent Experiencep. 179
Chapter 14 Seventh Journey: The Visitorsp. 193
Chapter 15 Hawaiian Encountersp. 211
Chapter 16 Eighth Journey: The Voyage to the Sourcep. 229
Chapter 17 Medicinemakerp. 255
Chapter 18 The Messagep. 275
Postscriptp. 289
Endnotep. 295
Notesp. 297
Glossaryp. 313
Acknowledgmentsp. 321
Shamanic Training Workshopsp. 323
About the Authorp. 325

Google Preview