Cover image for Masuto : the Hollywood murders
Masuto : the Hollywood murders
Fast, Howard, 1914-2003.
Personal Author:
First trade paperback edition.
Publication Information:
New York : ibooks : Distributed by Simon & Schuster, 2001.
Physical Description:
viii, 406 pages ; 21 cm
General Note:
"Two complete novels in one" -- Cover.
Case of the sliding pool -- Case of the kidnapped angel.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks

On Order



Masao Masuto is a Nisei detective on the Beverly Hills police force- a cultured stranger in an even stranger land of traffic-clogged freeways, artery-clogging fast food... and brutal murders. In The Case of the Sliding Pool, the collapse of a swimming pool exposes the skeleton of a man, buried in the pool's foundation for thirty years. Determined to learn the identities of both the victim and his killer, Masuto finds himself in a game of wits with a brilliant murderer. In The Case of The Kidnapped Angel, Hollywood sex goddess Angel Barton has been kidnapped. Although Angel returns home unharmed a short time later, her husband, Mike- who left to pay her ransom- is not so lucky. Secking the reasons for Barton's death, Masuto is soon drawn into a complex world of secret passions, bewildering illusions... and increasingly savage murders.

Author Notes

Howard Fast was born on November 11, 1914 in Manhattan. At the age of 17, he sold his first story to Amazing Stories magazine. The next year he sold his first novel, Two Villages, to the Dial Press for a $100 advance. During his lifetime, he wrote more than 80 books, including Conceived in Liberty, The Unvanquished, Citizen Tom Paine, Freedom Road, April Morning, The Immigrants, Second Generation, The Establishment, The Legacy, and Greenwich. He won the Stalin International Peace Prize in 1953.

A member of the Communist party, he served three months in a federal prison in 1950 for refusing to testify about his political activity. Blacklisted as a result, he founded his own publishing house, Blue Heron Press, which released his novel Spartacus in 1951. In 1957, he wrote a book about his political experiences entitled The Naked God. He also wrote a series of detective stories under the name E. V. Cunningham. He died on March 12, 2003 at the age of 88.

(Bowker Author Biography)