Cover image for Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle
Title:
Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle
Author:
MacDonald, Betty Bard.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York, NY : HarperCollins, 1985.
Physical Description:
118 pages : illustrations ; 21 cm
Summary:
From her upside-down house, the eccentric Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle issues to parents her marvelous cures for such common children's diseases as Won't-Put-Away-Toys-itis, Answerbackism, and Fighter-Quarrelitis.
Language:
English
Reading Level:
Ages 6-12.

1070 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR MG 5.2 3.0 63.

Reading Counts RC 3-5 4.5 7 Quiz: 13373 Guided reading level: O.
Added Author:
ISBN:
9780397317127
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Elma Library FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Meet Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle! She lives in an upside-down house with a kitchen that is always full of freshly baked cookies. She was even married to a pirate once! Best of all, she knows everything there is to know about children.



When Mary turns into an Answer-Backer or Dick becomes Selfish or Allen decides to be a Slow-Eater-Tiny-Bite-Taker, Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle has the perfect cure. And her solutions always work, with plenty of laughs along the way. This is the book that started it all!

Perfect for fans of Mary Poppins and Nanny McPhee, this classic series is all about learning and problem-solving. Young readers will love this book.


Author Notes

Betty Bard MacDonald was born on March 26, 1908 in Boulder Colorado. She is an author who specilaizes in humorous autobiographical tales such as in her book The Egg and I. This title brought her notority in 1945. It quickly became a bestseller. It was based on her life on the Chimacum Valley chicken farm. The book introduces the characters of Ma and Pa Kettle who were also featured in the film version. The characters were so popular that nine more film were made featuring them.

MacDonald went on to publish three other semi- autobiographical books: Anybody Can Do Anything, The Plague and I and Onions in the Stew. She also wrote the Mrs. Piggle Wiggle series of children's books and another children's book, entitled Nancy and Plum. A posthumous collection of her writings, entitled Who Me?, was later released.

Betty Bard MacDonald died in Seattle of uterine cancer on February 7, 1958.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Google Preview