Cover image for The other shore : plays
The other shore : plays
Gao, Xingjian.
Personal Author:
Uniform Title:
Plays. Selections. English
First edition.
Publication Information:
Sha Tin, N.T., Hong Kong : Chinese University of Hong Kong, 2000.

Physical Description:
xlii, 269 pages : illustrations ; 23 cm
Other shore -- Between life and death -- Dialogue and rebuttal -- Nocturnal wanderer -- Weekend quartet.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR UG 5.9 12.0 43146.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
PL2869.O128 A24 1999 Adult Non-Fiction Central Closed Stacks

On Order



When Gao Xingjian won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2000, he became the only Chinese writer to achieve such international acclaim. The Chinese University Press is the first publisher of his work in the English language. Indeed, The Other Shore is one of the few works by the author available in English today. "The Other Shore: Plays by Gao Xingjian" contains five of Gao's most recent works: "The Other Shore" (1986), "Between Life and Death" (1991), "Dialogue and Rebuttal" (1992), "Nocturnal Wanderer" (1993), and "Weekend Quartet" (1995). With original imagery and in beautiful language, these plays illuminate the realities of life, death, sex, loneliness, and exile. The plays also show the dramatist's idea of the tripartite actor, a process by which the actor neutralizes himself and achieves a disinterested observation of his self in performance. An introduction by the translator describes the dramatist and his view on drama.

Author Notes

Xingjian Gao was born on January 4, 1940 in Ganzhou, China. As a child, he was encouraged to paint, write and play the violin, and at the age of 17, he attended the Beijing Foreign languages Institute, majoring in French and Literature. He is known as being at the fore of Chinese/French Literature, attempting to revolutionize Chinese literature and art.

At the height of the Cultural Revolution, Gao destroyed all of his early work after being sent to the country for "rehabilitation." His "Preliminary Explorations Into the Techniques of Modern Fiction" caused serious debate in the Chinese literary world by challenging the social realism that was at the core of Chinese literature and art. The authorities condemned his work and Gao was placed under surveillance. He left China for Paris in 1987 and was honored by the French with the title of Chevalier de L'Ordere des Artes et des Lettres.

None of Gao's plays have been performed in China since 1987, when "The Other Shore" had been banned. In 1989, Gao left the Communist party. After the publication of "Fugitives," which was about the reason he left the communist party, Gao was declared "persona noon grata" by the Chinese regime and all of his works banned. On October 12, 2000, Gao won the Nobel Prize for Literature, becoming the first Chinese writer ever to do so. He is well known for his writing as well as his painting and has had exhibitions all over the world.

(Bowker Author Biography)