Cover image for The five lost aunts of Harriet Bean
The five lost aunts of Harriet Bean
McCall Smith, Alexander, 1948-
[Large print edition].
Publication Information:
Bath : Chivers Press, 1997.

Physical Description:
122 pages : illustrations ; 23 cm
General Note:
"Galaxy children's large print."
Added Author:
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Central Library X Juvenile Large Print Central Closed Stacks

On Order



When Harriet Bean's father mentions that he has five sisters-whom Harriet has never met-she is immediately intrigued. Harriet is determined to uncover the whereabouts of her five lost aunts, but with nothing more than an unfinished family portrait and a few outdated clues, will she be able to locate them? Join Harriet in her search to reunite her father with his five lost sisters-Veronica, Harmonica, Majolica, Japonica, and Thessalonika.

Author Notes

Alexander McCall Smith was born on August 24, 1948 in Zimbabwe. He was a professor of medical law at the University of Edinburgh, but he left in 2005 to focus on his writing. He has written over 60 books, including specialist academic titles including Forensic Aspects of Sleep and The Criminal Law of Botswana, short story collections including Portuguese Irregular Verbs, and children's books including The Perfect Hamburger. He is best known for the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series. He also writes the Corduroy Mansions, Isabel Dalhousie and 44 Scotland Street series.

He has received numerous awards, including The Crime Writers' Association Dagger in the Library Award and the 2004 United Kingdom's Author of the Year Award. His book, The Full Cupboard of Life, received the Saga Award for Wit in the United Kingdom. In 2007, he received a CBE for his services in literature.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Google Preview