Cover image for The collected mystery stories
The collected mystery stories
Block, Lawrence.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
London : Orion, 1999.
Physical Description:
xi, 754 pages ; 24 cm
Bernie Rhodenbarr. Like a thief in the night -- The burglar who dropped in on Elvis -- The burglar who smelled smoke ; Sometimes they bite. A bad night for burglars -- Collecting Ackermans -- The Dettweiler solution -- Funny you should ask -- The gentle way -- Going through the motions -- Like a dog in the street -- And miles to go before I sleep -- Nothing short of highway robbery -- One thousand dollars a word -- Sometimes they bite -- Strangers on a handball court -- This crazy business of ours -- When this man dies ; Martin Ehrengraf. The Ehrengraf defense -- The Ehrengraf presumption --The Ehrengraf experience -- The Ehrengraf appointment -- The Ehrengraf riposte -- The Ehrengraf obligation -- The Ehrengraf alternative -- The Ehrengraf nostrum -- The Ehrengraf affirmation ; Like a lamb to slaughter. The books always balance -- The boy who disappeared clouds -- Change of life -- Click! -- The dangerous business -- Hot eyes, cold eyes -- If this be madness -- A little off the top -- Leo Youngdahl, R.I.P. -- The most unusual snatch -- Passport in order -- That kind of day -- Weekend guests -- With a smile for the ending -- You could call it blackmail ; Keller. Answers to soldier -- Keller's therapy -- Keller on the spot ; Some days you get the bear. As good as a rest -- A blow for freedom -- Cleveland in my dreams -- Death wish -- Good for the soul -- Hilliard's ceremony -- How would you like it? -- Like a bug on a windsheld -- Someday I'll plant more walnut trees -- Some days you get the bear -- Some things a man must do -- Something to remember you by -- The Tulsa experience ; Chip Harrison. Death of the Mallory Queen -- As dark as Christmas gets ; New stories. Headaches and bad dreams -- How far it could go -- In for a penny -- Like a bone in the throat -- Three in the side pocket ; Matthew Scudder. Out the window -- A candle for the bag lady -- By the dawn's early light -- Batman's helpers -- The merciful angel of death -- The night and the music -- Looking for David.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
X Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense
X Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks
X Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks
X Adult Fiction Mystery/Suspense

On Order



Grandmaster and Edgar award-winning author Lawrence Block has brought together 71 of his best stories featuring his most popular series characters.

From Matt Scudder in 'The Merciful Angel of Death' to Bernie Rhodenbarr in 'Like a Thief in the Night' and Keller's 'Answers to Soldier', THE COLLECTED MYSTERY STORIES is the ultimate collection from 'one of the best authors now working the beat' Wall Street Journal

Author Notes

Lawrence Block is the author of the popular series' featuring Bernie Rhodenbarr, Matthew Scudder, and Chip Harrison. Over 2 million copies of Lawrence Block's books are in print. He has published articles and short fiction in American Heritage, Redbook, Playboy, GQ, and The New York Times, and has published several collections of short fiction in book form, most recently Collected Mystery Stories.

Block is a Grand Master of Mystery Writers of America. He has won the Edgar and Shamus awards four times, the Japanese Maltese Falcon award twice, as well as the Nero Wolfe award. In France, he was proclaimed a Grand Maitre du Roman Noir and has been awarded the Societe 813 trophy twice. Block was presented with the key to the city of Muncie, Indiana, and is a past president of the Private Eye Writers of America and the Mystery Writers of America.

(Bowker Author Biography) Lawrence Block is the author of the popular series featuring Bernie Rhodenbarr, Matthew Scudder, and Chip Harrison. Over 2 million copies of Lawrence Block's books are in print. Lawrence Block has won the Edgar Award three times, the Shamus Award four times, the Maltese Falcon Award twice, and was named Grandmaster by the Mystery Writers of America.

(Publisher Provided)

Reviews 1

Booklist Review

Lawrence Block combines three characteristics that rarely show up in the same crime writer: he's versatile, he's prolific, and he's damn good. This massive collection of nearly all Block's short fiction demonstrates all three qualities. Published originally in Great Britain, where no previous collections of his stories had appeared, the volume brings together tales starring all of Block's series heroes; there are three Bernie Rhodenbarr stories, seven Matthew Scudder stories, three Keller stories, nine Martin Ehrengraff stories, and two Chip Harrison stories. (Ehrengraff, the lawyer who rarely visits a courtroom, has thus far only appeared in short stories, all of which are included here.) In addition, the entire contents of Block's three previously published collections of stand-alone stories are also included, as are five new, unpublished stories. In all, this omnibus collection offers an impressive testament to a modern master of crime fiction whose talent shines just as brightly in the short form as it does in the novel. Buy it, even though many of Block's stories will already be on the shelves. --Bill Ott