Cover image for The great airport mystery
The great airport mystery
Dixon, Franklin W.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
NY : Grosset & Dunlap, [1993]

Physical Description:
175 pages : illustrations ; 20 cm.
Reading Level:
760 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR MG 5.8 5.0 5663.

Reading Counts RC 6-8 6.1 7 Quiz: 13146 Guided reading level: NR.
Format :


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Item Holds
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area-Series
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
J FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
FICTION Juvenile Fiction Open Shelf
X Juvenile Fiction Mystery/Suspense

On Order



Valuable electronic parts containing platinum are being stolen from shipments made by Stanwide Mining Equipment's cargo planes, and Frank and Joe are called upon to assist their world-renowned detective father solve the baffling case. While posing as Stanwide employees, the boys look into the truth behind the chief pilot's death at sea. The puzzling trail of clues leads the young sleuths to an uninhabited Caribbean island, but the final, and most startling, discovery is made in the boys' home town of Bayport.

Author Notes

Franklin W. Dixon Franklin W. Dixon is actually a pseudonym for any number of ghostwriters who have had the distinction of writing stories for the Hardy Boys series. The series was originally created by Edward Stratmeyer in 1926, the same mastermind of the Nancy Drew detective series, Tom Swift, the Rover Boys and other characters. While Stratmeyer created the outlines for the original series, it was Canadian writer Leslie McFarlane who breathed life to the stories and created the persona Franklin W. Dixon. McFarlane wrote for the series for over twenty years and is credited with success of the early collection of stories.

As the series became more popular, it was pared down, the format changed and new ghostwriters added their own flavor to the stories. Part of the draw of the Hardy Boys is that as the authors changed, so to did the times and the story lines. While there is no one true author of the series, each ghostwriter can be given credit for enhancing the life of this series and never unveiling that there really is no Franklin W. Dixon.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Table of Contents

I Mysterious Flarep. 1
II Factory Detectivesp. 8
III The Ghost Pilotp. 15
IV Police Ordersp. 22
V Warehouse Crashp. 30
VI Aerial Missionp. 40
VII A Strange Requestp. 53
VIII Masked Attackerp. 60
IX Alley Escapep. 68
X Startling Discoveriesp. 76
XI A Questionable Friendp. 83
XII The Cave Cluep. 90
XIII The Tornadop. 97
XIV Amazing Camouflagep. 106
XV Capturep. 113
XVI Telltale Initialsp. 121
XVII A Revealing Listp. 129
XVIII Air-Chart Secretp. 138
XIX Hideout Trapp. 151
XX Runway Victoryp. 163