Cover image for Today I feel silly & other moods that make my day
Title:
Today I feel silly & other moods that make my day
Author:
Curtis, Jamie Lee, 1958-
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : HarperCollins Publishers, [1998]

©1998
Physical Description:
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 23 x 27 cm
Summary:
A child's emotions range from silliness to anger to excitement, coloring and changing each day.
General Note:
"Joanna Cotler books."
Language:
English
Reading Level:
AD 250 Lexile.
Program Information:
Accelerated Reader AR LG 2.4 0.5 1409.

Reading Counts RC K-2 2.4 1 Quiz: 20821 Guided reading level: J.
Added Author:
ISBN:
9780060245603

9780060245610
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Childrens Area-Picture Books
Searching...
Audubon Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Grand Island Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Kenmore Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Orchard Park Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Julia Boyer Reinstein Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Julia Boyer Reinstein Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Niagara Branch Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Lackawanna Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Angola Public Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Crane Branch Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Eggertsville-Snyder Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Hamburg Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Anna M. Reinstein Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Alden Ewell Free Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Bookmobile Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Bookmobile
Searching...
Collins Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Concord Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
Kenilworth Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...
North Collins Library J PIC BOOK Juvenile Fiction Picture Books
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

From the #1 New York Times bestselling team of Jamie Lee Curtis and Laura Cornell, authors of I'm Gonna Like Me and Where Do Balloons Go?, Today I Feel Silly helps children understand and appreciate their shifting moods.

Jamie Lee Curtis's zany and touching verse, paired with Laura Cornell's whimsical and original illustrations, helps kids explore, identify, and, even have fun with their ever-changing moods.

Silly, cranky, excited, or sad--everyone has moods that can change each day. And that's okay! Follow the boisterous, bouncing protagonist as she explores her moods and how they change from day to day.


Author Notes

Jamie Lee Curtis was born in Los Angeles, California in 1958. She is the child of Hollywood legends Tony Curtis and Janet Leigh. She began her film career with such horror films as "Halloween" and "The Fog." In 1983 she starred in "Trading Places" with Eddie Murphy and she won the BAFTA Award for Best Actress in a Supporting Role. She became recognized as a comedic actress. In 1994 she won a Golden Globe award for her role in "True Lies."

In 1993 she began writing children's books with her illustrator, Laura Cornell. Two of her New York Times Best Sellers are, My Brave Year of Firsts: Tries, Sighs, and High Fives, in 2012 and This is me: A Story of Who We Are and Where We Came From, in 2016.

She has been married to Christopher Guest since 1984. The couple has two adopted children, Anne Hayden Guest and Thomas Hayden Guest. She resides in California

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

Ages 4^-7. This colorful, energetic book, by the author-illustrator team that produced Tell Me Again about the Night I Was Born (1996), uses comedy to promote an understanding of common emotions. Each day a frizzy-haired young narrator acknowledges and describes a different feeling, relating it to her everyday world: "Today I feel silly. / Mom says it's the heat. / I put rouge on the cat / and gloves on my feet." The rhyming text should have solid child appeal, and although further explanation from an adult may be needed, Curtis does a competent job of capturing a sense of a number of complicated, sometimes similar feelings. The wild, vibrant watercolors occasionally overwhelm the text and aren't as successful in reflecting the emotions as the words are, but they are still a good deal of fun as they show the mercurial heroine coping with the ups and downs of life--usually with her goofy-looking striped cat by her side. An insert at the back of the book allows kids to identify their own "feeling of the day" by turning a cardboard wheel. For a less raucous take on the subject, try Aliki's Feelings (1984). --Stephanie Zvirin


Publisher's Weekly Review

Fans of Tell Me Again About the Night I Was Born and When I Was Little may be disappointed in this third offering from the talented duo, which looks at the wide range of human emotions. A dynamic girl describes a different "feeling" per day‘13 in all‘and the ways in which each manifests itself ("Today I feel silly./ Mom says it's the heat./ I put rouge on the cat/ and gloves on my feet"). Curtis relays her upbeat message ("Moods are just something that happen each day./ Whatever I'm feeling inside is okay!") in verse that is largely sprightly, but doesn't always reflect the changes in mood that occur during the course of the day the girl describes. For example, "Today I am quiet, my mom understands./ She gave me two ice creams and then we held hands./ We went to the movies and then had a bite./ I cried just a little and then felt all right," suggests a variety of feelings other than simply "quiet." Occasionally rhyming couplets take the facile route ("Today I'm discouraged and frustrated‘see?/ I tried Rollerblading and fell on my knee"), and the repetitive, driving rhythm doesn't allow the words to soar the way the illustrations do. The puckish artwork, still vintage Cornell, stars a curly red-headed girl whose near-neon surroundings (hot pink, lime green, fiery orange) change in intensity according to the emotion she expresses. A "mood wheel" (for readers to hone in their feelings) rounds out this amiable enough outing that, despite its missteps, may get readers talking about their own emotional swings. Ages 4-8. (Oct.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


School Library Journal Review

PreS-Gr 2-Each turn of the page brings a new day and a new mood. Be it excited or joyful, discouraged or confused, the little girl featured here has a litany of reasons to back up her ever-changing attitude. "Today I am cranky so nothing seems right. I have diarrhea and broke my new kite. Mom dyed her hair orange. My dad shaved his beard. My tooth came in crooked. This family is weird." The text is connected by its rhyme rather than its reason. There is so much unrelated jabber that the ideas become almost nonsensical and come across principally as a whine fest. The book does, however, show that "whatever I'm feeling inside is okay!" All of the moods are taken in stride with no judgments made. The emotions are childlike and their visual presentation is exuberant. The watercolor illustrations are splashy and expressive, but at times overpowering. Their loosely focused patchwork of color with little white space to rest the eye brings a busy confusion to the page, adding to the jumbled emotional roller coaster of the text.-Martha Topol, Traverse Area District Library, Traverse City, MI (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview