Cover image for Quantum
Title:
Quantum
Author:
Grace, Tom.
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
New York : Warner Books, [2000]

©2000
Physical Description:
viii, 372 pages ; 24 cm
Language:
English
Genre:
ISBN:
9780446524100
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Item Holds
Searching...
X Adult Fiction Central Closed Stacks
Searching...
Searching...
X Adult Fiction Open Shelf
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Experimental physicist Ted Sandstrom has invented a means to generate and store vasts amounts of power with a small quantum energy device. This cutting-edge technology promises to spark the birth of a new industry or, if placed in the wrong hands, devastate entire segments of the world economy. Nolan Kilkenny takes on the job of transferring Sandstrom's research into the industrialized world. Victor Orlov, the most powerful and deadly oligarch in Russia, learns of the device and sends his own private army to kill Sandstrom and steal the quantum technology. The stakes are raised even higher when Kilkenny and Orlov each discover that Johann Wolff, a German scientist missing since 1948, may hold the key not only to understanding the underlying science of Sandstrom's invention, but to unraveling many of the universe's best held secrets. As both sides race to lay claim to this technological frontier, Orlov kidnaps Kilkenny's girlfriend. Aided by an elite team of specialists, Kilkenny will stop at nothing to save the love of his life, bring Orlov down, and put an end to the Russian's plans for a global economic empire.


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

Nolan Kilkenny is a Naval Academy graduate with a master's from MIT and experience as a Navy SEAL. Along with the beautiful and brainy Kelsey Newton, childhood pal and grown-up lover, who teaches physics at the University of Michigan, Nolan brings equal helpings of brain and brawn to the technothriller genre. Here the stakes are economic world order, and Nolan and Kelsey, pushed by Nolan's father, get involved in a race to find the notes of a German scientist murdered for war crimes he never committed. Others are also after the notes, the most significant of whom is Victor Ivanovich Orlov, a Russian Mafia type in control of an army of educated thugs, half the government, and an industrial empire worth billions. The prize is called quantum technology, which, of course, could become a force for good or evil. This successor to Spyder Web (1998) is a classy, stylish thriller. Look for more of Nolan and Kelsey. --Budd Arthur


Publisher's Weekly Review

Like James Bond, ex-navy SEAL Nolan Kilkenny battles to keep a potentially world-dominating technology from falling into the wrong hands in this exciting techno-thriller, a follow-up to Grace's first Nolan adventure, Spyder Web. In 1948, ‚migr‚ German scientist Johann Wolff, working at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, studies his research notes and makes an amazing discovery. (" `Mein Gott!' Wolff cried out, as an image of the delicate, multidimensional structures that define both matter and energy clearly formed in his mind.") Minutes later, he is deadÄkilled by a Jewish assassin who thinks (erroneously) that the scientist conducted research on humans for the Nazis. More than 50 years later, Wolff's research becomes vitally important, as Kilkenny, who coordinates projects for a research group called MARC on the Ann Arbor campus, finds himself and his colleagues under attack by a band of Russian mercenaries working for Victor Orlov, the richest and most powerful private citizen in Russia. Orlov has learned that MARC, inspired by Wolff's writings, has discovered a Theory of EverythingÄsought in vain by Einstein and other great physicistsÄthat will create an infinite energy supply and make all other sources, from gasoline to nuclear power, obsolete. Grace's prose can be clumsy, and his plot requires some suspension of belief. But in Kilkenny and his family (Nolan's father, an international financier, funded MARC, and grandfather Martin, a woodworker, was a friend of Johann Wolff), he has created a moving human portrait of America's technological progress. A few explosive action scenes (including a shoot-out at a college street art fair) enliven this nicely textured adventure. (Aug.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved


Library Journal Review

Nolan Kilkenny, former Navy SEAL, computer expert, and all-around hero, is back (after Spyder Web), and this time he!s fighting Russians who threaten to upset the world!s economic order. Physicist Ted Sandstrom!s new invention, a device that can harness the energy of quantum power cells, has the potential to change the technologies of the modern industrial world. Victor Orlov, one of Russia!s new capitalist elite, orders the theft of Sandstrom!s research with the intention of developing the technology and reaping billions in patents. Ruthlessly killing all who stand in his way, Orlov and his Spetsnaz mercenary thugs seem unstoppable"until Kilkenny is called upon to try. Grace!s second high-tech thriller again offers international intrigue, believable technical wizardry, relatively complex characters, and plenty of suspense. Fans of Tom Clancy and Clive Cussler won!t be disappointed and should be watching for Kilkenny!s next appearance. [Previewed in Prepub Alert, LJ 4/1/00.]"Rebecca House Stankowski, Purdue Univ. Calumet Lib., Hammond, IN (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.