Cover image for Living root : a memoir
Title:
Living root : a memoir
Author:
Heller, Michael, 1937-
Personal Author:
Publication Information:
Albany : State University of New York Press, [2000]

©2000
Physical Description:
viii, 179 pages : illustrations, portraits ; 24 cm.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780791446331

9780791446348
Format :
Book

Available:*

Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
Central Library PS3558.E4762 Z47 2000 Adult Non-Fiction Central Closed Stacks
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

In this literary memoir, poet and essayist Michael Heller interweaves family and personal history with reflections on language, poetry, religion, and memory itself.


Author Notes

Michael Heller has published six volumes of poetry, the most recent being Wordflow: New and Selected Poems.


Reviews 1

Library Journal Review

American poet Heller (b. 1937) has written a memoir of his youth in Brooklyn and Miami Beach, FL, that mixes in history regarding his family's hometown of Bialystock, Poland, and World War II. Heller, who considers himself a Jewish Objectivist poet in the tradition of Charles Reznikoff, George Oppen, Carl Rakosi, and Louis Zukofsky, turns his words to the world of his parents and family. His father's sentimental and flawed personality, his mother's difficult heart condition, his grandfather's faith, and his aunt's mental disease leave Heller with wounds that only language and literature can heal. This book contains poems, notes on poems, journal entries, poignant descriptions, and philosophic thoughts. Through them Heller explores the Jewish experience in Europe and America, as well as the nature of reading and writing. The disparate elements cohere, leaving the reader moved by the seamless joining of personal tone and historic incident. Recommended for literature and Jewish studies collections.DGene Shaw, NYPL (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview